We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff”
Review of Aviemore

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aviemore
Ranked #97 of 321 Restaurants in Peterborough
Restaurant details
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A generously sized portion greets you when you stop in to this popular spot for breakfast or lunch. Friendly staff check to make sure that your coffee is filled up, and that all is fine with your order. Lots of variety for the size of restaurant, and is well priced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cammie_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town - and not a bad lunch either!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I are big on breakfast - and we LOVE the Aviemore! The servers are super friendly and even if we haven't been in for a few months they not only remember us, but remember our order too!

Breakfast for the two of us is usually about $13 - and includes eggs, toast, hashbrowns, about half a pound of bacon and all you can drink coffee. Its delicious, fast, cheap and lots of food!

We've had lunch a couple of times as well, and it's almost too much food - and delicious!

I love the cozy atmosphere, but if i had one complaint it would be that there are a lot of regulars there who sit and drink coffee for hours at a time - and tend to take up tables while there are people standing in the door waiting for a seat. On the other hand, i love that it's the kind of place you can be quick in and out, or can sit and relax as well - they aren't rushing you out!

Overall definitely 5 stars! and try the rice pudding!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No frills but great food and service”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Specials are always good, the waitresses are friendly and the fries and gravy are awesome! It is a busy local establishment that you can count on for good food at reasonable prices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rvgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been going to the Aviemore for years. It is a neighbourhood restaurant therefore there is no fancy decor and the tables are close together but the food is consistently good, The two of us can usually get out of there, full, for about $25 (soup, main, sometimes rice pudding). Hubby always orders veal parmesan and I opt for the club wrap with rings. Lots of other things on the menu so it won't be difficult to make a choice. Servers are friendly and the kitchen is quick to get your meal out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TurtleTaxiDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barefoot Bay
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have been going to the Aviemore since the first week we arrived in Peterborough 14 years ago and they have always, consistantly had good food and great service. The waitresses are the best. Atmosphere? Well, they do their best for such a little place but the food and service make up for it. I always recommend the Aviemore but warn about the decor. It is very INTIMATE as the tables are close but then it makes for good conversation with strangers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aviemore also viewed

 

Been to Aviemore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing