We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”

Canadian Canoe Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.13*
and up
Canadian Canoe Museum Group Guided Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Canadian Canoe Museum is a family friendly museum that explores the canoe's enduring significance to the peoples of Canada & the World.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Took an American visitor who builds canoes, we were there for hours, very intereresting and surprising how much there is to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, Marketing and Media Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
That's great! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    68
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkfield Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great educational opportunity”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Loaded with Canadian and Aboriginal craftsmanship, this museum is a treasure trove of information. The displays are well done ad well organized, and the staff is very well informed and helpful. The canoes themselves are works of art. The move for the museum to a place on the water should open even more opportunities for the visitor. Loved it, as did the young teens I was with, but I wouldn't really recommend it for most kids under 9 or 10.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, Marketing and Media Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We're glad to hear you had a good time! We are hoping to be in our new building by 2021, so hopefully we will see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Needs an overhaul.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This place has a lot to offer in terms of authentic and aboriginal heritage. But for a Canadian museum it is quite lacking. Reports say that the facility is moving to a new venue, which will help. Imagine a canoe museum built where there is no water access. Seems weird to me. The day we were there, they had a soapstone carving activity for kids that my boys loved. It's run well and completely lacks that awful consumerism that most public places of this sort smack of, so that's a big plus. We'll give it another go when the kids are a bit older and they've moved to their new digs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, Marketing and Media Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We're glad to hear your boys had a good time! We are also looking forward to the new building. We hope to be in by 2021!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, On
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Learn a lot!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very well set up and wonderful displays. Very educational and interesting. Good gift shop. Will be moving to a better site by the Liftlock in 2 years time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, Marketing and Media Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! We are about to begin construction on the new building, so we are hoping to move next to the Lift Lock by 2021. We hope to see you at the new museum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another Peterborough Gem”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very well laid out museum and extremely informative. The best news is they are planning to move the museum to the Peterborough Lift Lock site!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank blusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, Marketing and Media Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit. We are looking forward to moving into the new building in 2021!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Canoe Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Canoe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing