We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in the summer heat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Woodstock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not in the summer heat”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This past weekend my family stayed in three of the hotel rooms. They were a great size and very clean. Breakfast was fine- just what you'd expect for what was offered. Each of the three rooms had major problems with air conditioners and were almost impossible to sleep in. Two of the rooms were checked by staff after a request to have the air conditioners looked at. There was absolutely no improvement made. Temperatures in the rooms at 8am after the air conditioners ran for the night were 82F and 85F. While an adjustment was made to the bill, the experience was not satisfactory at all. We have stayed at this hotel in the winter and it was fine, but I would not recommend it for a summer reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasleen S, Manager at Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, immensely. So much so, that we have upgraded each of the problematic air conditioner units in those rooms, and are doing daily checks on all units throughout the hotel. Although we regret that you were unsatisfied with your stay, we're glad you took the time to review, and we hope you give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    34
    17
    18
See reviews for
42
62
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corbeil, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel itself was great. Nice comfortable rooms, great location and good value. I would have rated it higher but unfortunately the 3rd Floor appeared to be the party floor this past weekend and the room right next to us was party central. We saw a large group of young people check in when we did and apparently they were all on our floor. I am far from a stodgy old fart but the level of noise that continued on until 2:30am with their door open and drunken people wandering the halls with liquor was a bit much. I eventually went to the front desk and asked them to please go talk to the party people. He did talk to them and by 3:30am all was relatively quiet. I am sure I was not the only one on the floor that had a hard time getting any sleep at all. I'm sure the hotel is great but this experience was not the greatest. I think the staff should have been a bit more vigilant when they saw this large group of people checking in with party plans. I would give this location another try and I would assume this was an isolated incident.

Room Tip: There are two courtyard rooms that are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasleen S, Manager at Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Let me start by saying thank you! We are constantly striving to deliver exceptional service, and your feedback is both helpful and appreciated.

We take noise complaints very seriously here. Our night auditors do rounds starting at 11pm, and deal with any guest complaints immediately. Guests comfort is number one, and I apologize for any unpleasantness you experienced during your stay. We will work to keep the noise level down in the future, and again, thank you for taking the time to review.

Sincerely,

Jasleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

stayed at inn for one night on stop over. front desk staff great to deal with. great breakfast and free coffee in lobby. rooms clean and staff more than willing to help. downtown close to all the great restaurtants and pubs. staff suggested Riley's. great food and price and live music. another good places was spills coffee bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Recently stayed the night at Peterborough Inn and Suites. Staff at the desk was friendly and helpful.....rate was very reasonable. Overall the hotel is very cute and clean. The room was ok...nothing special....it had a nice fireplace that we never really got to use b/c even with the window wide open the room was way too warm (because of location of the room there was no breeze or air flow). Due to the room temperature the window had to stay open all night which allowed us to hear people partying down the street for a good part of the night. The clock did not work in the room. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have every slept in......it tilted to one side and we could feel springs through the mattress. Again....there was some good parts but, also some not so good parts to our stay. Not sure we would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Peterborough Inn and Suites is a fantastic little boutique hotel right in the heart of downtown Peterborough. Each room is a bit different than the next, but all include a gas fireplace and jettub. the rooms are clean, neat and tastefully decorated, but the best part of these accommodations is that it's a short walk to dozens of restaurants and nightclubs that dot the downtown.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnowAboutTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although the lobby is all guild and glitter the rooms are just the opposite. The walls are covered with some weird mottled paint colour that just makes the walls look dirty. The phones are very outdated and dirty looking and there is no place to dock an Ipod. Also, we had no window to the outside in our room. All in all, it needs a makeover.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caperlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
87 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a wonderful, cozy hotel in downtown Peterborough. It is located right downtown, and is close to many restaurants and theaters.The hotel is very well looked after and you can tell there is a pride in ownership. Our room was clean, had a corner fireplace, sofa, nice linens, and there was more than enough room for two or more people. Front staff was very friendly and helpful. There is coffee and tea in the lobby at all times. In the morning, a nice continental breakfast. All food was fresh. There is secure parking in a parking garage nearby for guests. We would definitely return. Larger hotel chains can learn from this Inn on how to run a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
8.7 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel

Property: Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Address: 312 George St N, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3H2, Canada (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only hotel located in the downtown core of Peterborough Ontario with a true boutique feeling. Our suites are ideal for business travelers, romantic get-a-ways, bridal parties and any special occasion. Continental breakfast, wireless Internet, local phone calls, parking and 15% discount Diners card are all included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peterborough Inn And Suites Hotel
Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing