We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverview Park and Zoo Peterborough”

Riverview Park and Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 55-acre zoo with mini-train rides, an F-86 Sabre Jet, a kid's water play park, many animals, and free admission and parking.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Riverview Park and Zoo Peterborough”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This park is a lovely park to visit and take your children , or grandchildren ... they had a wonderful time and enjoyed the splash pad immensely and enjoyed the animals the park and all the fun things to do there ... and the huge slide tunnel into the woods ... they took lots of pictures with their i-pods and ended with the train ride which was a hoot for them ....they were only 8 & 9yrs old ...and to top it all off they had a big ice cream cone from the snack bar . Our donation of your choice was all it took to go and join in the fun times here ....thank you Peterborough we had a really good day !!!!! Lyn ....

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyndathomasgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    182
    34
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice little Zoo and it's free (parking too)”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It is a nice little zoo near Trent University just beside the river. I visit there a lot when I study there. Got kind of a lot of animal for a free park. Got little train ride in the summer. Just visit again and now they got a water park there for kids. Got a big picnic area down by the river so it is sort a cool park in the summer or probably spring and fall.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank siulunglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING PARK AND ZOO”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had an AMAZING ful-filled day. Parking was very close to entrance, lots of variety. We visited the animals, went on a train ride, had a picnic lunch in the shade, played in the water area and finally played on the 3 large gym equipments and large slides and my twin 2 year old boys slept all the way home.......... PERFECT DAY!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“All this for FREE????”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wow!!! This is the hidden gem of the year. A park....a splash pad....a zoo!!! All located in a very pretty area by the river. Lots of picnic areas, lots to see and do....and all FREE!!! You just can't beat that!! We enjoyed each moment at this wonderful park on a Saturday afternoon. It wasn't too busy...lots of happy families enjoying the lovely weather in a perfect setting!
TIPS: there is a snack bar where you can purchase drinks, snacks, fast food and icecream. But, they don't sell bottled water. There is a fresh water station; so bring your own bottled water and just refill as needed.
Take the cute little train ride, for 2 bucks each it's a great deal!! The kids will love the random forest characters and the tunnel of noise!!

It's a great place and we will be back! Well worth the 2 hour drive for us..and simply delightful for those who live in the area!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great little zoo considering its free.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we go here usually once a month.doesn't have as many big animals as other zoos but it is free.has an awesome splash pad and huge playground area for the kids.there is a train ride through park for 2 dollars as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Park and Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Riverview Park and Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing