We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only the breakfast had been as good as the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel in a riverfront room with a fireplace, microwave, and fridge. Our 2nd floor room had a nice balcony overlooking the river. There was no elevator but the stairs were not bad. Service was fine. Our only disappointment was the breakfast. Both days it was exactly the same. We do not eat wheat so the words "full breakfast" on the web site convinced me to choose this hotel. at rather a higher price The full breakfast was (both mornings) scrambled eggs - probably reconstituted - and sausage links. There were some apples, some yogurt, and everything else was wheat filled. There did not seem to be a large variety of that either but I really did not pay that much attention. The good thing was that the breakfast was included with our room rate. WiFi was also included and worked well.
I think if we go back to Peterborough we will try out a different option.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 551 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

The room was spacious and inviting and with a fridge, coffee pot and microwave food costs were minimal. The free internet and breakfast were a bonus. The breakfast was the best surprise of all, it included hot items such as eggs and sausages. The staff were always friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had to come to Peterborough due to a family members hospitalization in town. Didn't know the town well and went to the various hotels and the Best Western was very helpful and sympathetic to the situation. Amber was great and got us set up. The evening and morning staff friendly and the free breakfast/Internet were handy. The room overall was good but could use some updating but it was clean and beds more comfortable then a hospital couch.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Nematode T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I travelled to Peterborough from Burlington with the purpose of looking at homes and industry in the area for a possible transfer. I arrived at the Best Western in the morning to pick up area maps before I started off for the day. I was greeted by Jeremy at the front desk. He took the time to talk with me about the area and gave me tips on where to look in Peterborough. After a few hours of driving and walking around Peterborough, I realized this city was not a viable option for me and I didn't even spend the night at the hotel. However, I felt compelled to write a review based strictly on the fantastic customer service of both Jeremy and Krystal. From what I could see of the property (lobby, pool, fitness centre, and outside property) this hotel would be a great option for families, couples, and business travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurlingtonKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very, very clean ! Nicely appointed. Staff very friendly, courteous and professional.
Breakfast - self serve mini-buffet - eggs, sausage, yogurt, bread, pastries, juice, coffee, french toast, cereal, fresh fruit - nicely done - (hot food refreshed regularly).
Coffee - bit weak for my taste, but typical for restaurant coffee.
Beds were super comfortable. Pillows less so - rather too soft and lacking in substance.
Shower was amazing - great water pressure, easy to adjust temperature and good flow from shower head.
Price was very competitive too - great value for the money.

Room Tip: If a good view is important be sure to ask when booking or checking in without a reservation otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChapelHill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Although I live in Peterborough I invite all my grandchildren up for Easter and as we have downsized & cannot accommodate all the kids I always book rooms in a local hotel. This is the first time I have selected the Best Western Otonabee Inn. What a pleasant surprised ! We were planning on staying at another hotel but found out at the last minute that their pool was closed. In a panic we called the Best Western as they also have a pool. The Guest Service Agent, Jeremy, was very helpful and took care of all our needs. He was very efficient & friendly and made us feel welcome.

Our room was fabulous, well appointed, spacious,comfortable and extremely clean. These are probably the nicest rooms in Peterborough. They have a fantastic fitness centre, a large pool and whirlpool. Although the pool was very busy the staff kept up the high demand on towels and making sure the pool area was clean. Pool is larger than most hotel pools and my grandkids had a great time.

I was really surprised to hear breakfast was included in our rate. Excellent choices that included scrambled eggs, sausages, french toast, baked goods, cereals etc. - everything you could want. Our server was very pleasant and you could tell she had pride in the hotel.

From now on the Best Western will certainly be my first choice when I bring family to the area. The management has to be commended on the high service levels and guest satisfaction provided.

Thank you from our entire family for a great stay - we will be back !

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 422MaggieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very nice hotel. The staff was very nice as well.

We stayed in room 142. It was clean and had up-to-date furniture. The room was equipped with: a mini fridge, microwave, LCD TV, iron, hair dryer, coffee machine, couch, coffee table, dresser, arm chair, and queen bed. There was lots of parking outside and the grounds were well kept. There is free wifi internet, a pool, hot tub and gym onsite as well.

The complimentary breakfast has lots of food to choose from such as: scrambled eggs, sausage, french toast, bagels, toast, cereal, muffins, and yogurt. To drink there was: juice, coffee, water, and iced tea. Very good selection and the food was fresh.

Cons: A couple of light bulbs didn't work. The shower curtain extends past the tub which doesn't allow for the door to open all the way. The bathroom door had trouble closing.

All in all, it was a very nice place to stay and if I were in town I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend a family member.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gareauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
396 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Peterborough
Quality Inn Peterborough
#8 of 12 in Peterborough
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
200 reviews
22.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn

Address: 84 Lansdowne St E, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 7N9, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range: $108 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Otonabee Hotel Peterborough
Best Western Peterborough
Peterborough Best Western
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn Peterborough, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing