We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Peterborough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Reviewed May 15, 2007

What a great hotel this is! I have stayed in all the major hotels in Peterborough including the Best Western and Comfort Inn and this hotel is by far the best. It has the best rooms, location and staff. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the city! Don't waste your money on the other hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toronto_ontario56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Peterborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 381 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2007

Great Service at the hotel! We were very happy with the hotel and the attention to detail that the staff had.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lucky_charm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2006

This is my 2nd year in a row, staying at the Holiday inn, in March. This place is sold out every year during the hockey tournament, as well as summer months so how bad can this be, if they continue to be booked solid?
If you are looking for a comfortable bed, warm showers, a dip in the pool, within a 5 minute walk of pretty much everything you can do in Peterborough, Stay here!!
This place is where I will continue to book, as well as many other players etc.
Its clean, friendly, simple atmosphere is what most look for, I thought.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank z24pride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2006

Stayed here on the first night of our holiday touring around Ontario. We had a really good time, the hotel staff were friendly and efficient, our room was very good, we booked a riverview room, which had a balcony and overlooked the river and you could also see the water jet/fountain and the hotel swimming pool. It was very relaxing and only a few minutes stroll away from shops and restaurants in Peterborough. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WannabeBillBryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Whitby
13
Reviewed December 18, 2005

My stay at the Holiday Inn in Peterborough was the worst experience I have ever had in all my years of traveling. I do not recomend that any one should stay there!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Guelph, ON
27
Reviewed August 21, 2005

Our family stayed for one night on a Saturday, leaving on Sunday morning. The hotel was busy, and we had to wait for maybe 5 minutes while others checked in. We had pre-booked on line, so check-in was smooth. All staff we met during our stay were cheeful, had eye contact and gave a cheeful hello even when passing in the hallway. It was obvious they had been trained, but it was not forced or insincere. Our room was clean and comfortable. The only negative was that the sliding door to the balcony was quite stiff, so the kids (9 & 10) could not open it themselves.

We used the pool a couple times and it was a good experience. A couple tiles were missing and the spot filled in with caulking was a bit of an eye-sore, but I had to look to find a negative.

Location is great - right on the water beside a park which hosted the "Festival of Lights" - a concert followed by fireworks twice a week. Even without the festival, it's a nice place for a stroll.

Supper was across the street at Smitty's (nice family resteraunt) and breakfast was in the hotel. Breakfast was great and reasonably quick (we were just too early for the Brunch buffet which looked fabulous) and was accompanied by live guitar playing. Together with a view over the river, it was a great setting. Staff were setting up the patio for the brunch crowd which would have been better yet.

I have stayed at the Best Western in Peterborough before, but will choose this Holiday Inn next time based mostly on location.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2005

Following our stay at this hotel, I had to write a review to rebuff all the previous negative reviews.
Since check-in is at 2pm, and this hotel tends to be very busy in the summer due to visiting boaters, we were there early. As expected, there was a line-up to check-in. The 2 receptionists were nice and friendly, no attitude noticed. Our room was ready and we received the 2 double beds, river-view, that we had prebooked. A few people were turned away because the hotel was sold out. Try to prebook if possible.
The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom newly renovated. "Herbal essence" toiletries were provided. We also had a fridge to keep our drinks cold. There was a patio with 2 chairs right outside the sliding door. We could walk out to the dock on the river to watch people fishing. The pool was not overly chlorinated and adequately clean. The water temperature was good. Towels were supplied as well as life jackets and pool noodles for the kids. There is a whirlpool, sauna, and showers by the pool. The pool is partitioned by a plastic divider with 2/3 of it indoor and 1/3 outdoor. The outdoor part of the pool is beside the gazebo/bar which was busy with a wedding reception. Parking at the hotel is free.
We didn't try the restaurant or room service. There is a Tim Horton's and a Country Style right across the street for coffee in the morning.
The Festival of Lights takes place during July and August at the park beside the hotel. They featured some excellent local musicians during our stay. There were fireworks as well.
Peterborough is a pretty town situated on lots of water-ways. I don't know what the above poster found depressing. Perhaps he didn't like all the rental housing that Trent University students live in throughout the downtown. It does look a bit run down in parts. However, the people are very friendly and we've never had any problem while visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank winterbrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Peterborough
Quality Inn Peterborough
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
197 reviews
9.0 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough

Address: 150 George St N, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range: $129 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Friendliest Service Among Peterborough, Ontario Hotels Located In the heart of the Kawarthas, the Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough Waterfront is ideally situated along the Trent Severn Waterway in the downtown business and shopping district with 60 restaurants within walking distance. Our hotel's central location puts you near the world's highest hydraulic lift lock and Canada's only Canoe Museum, 1.5 km from our hotel. Peterborough hosts numerous festivals throughout the year, such as summer's Festival of Lights and is home to popular arts facilities, like Showplace Performance Centre. You'll also find some of the best shopping opportunities in downtown Peterborough. Lodging here puts business travelers near GE Canada, Siemens, Pepsi-QTG, De Laval, Ministry of Natural Resources and other businesses in Peterborough. Our hotel's amenities include over 650 sq. m. of meeting space, catering services and a 24-hour Business Centre. From the indoor/outdoor pool and whirlpool to the kid's playroom and recreation room, our Peterborough hotel's amenities keep you entertained. Enjoy a meal at the Riverside Grill, visit the Fitness Centre and relax in a 100% nonsmoking guest room or suite featuring comfortable beds with triple-sheeted mattresses, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV and more. We invite you to stay at our hotel in Peterborough, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough Ontario
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing