We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for business, good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Convenient for business, good location!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I staying at this hotel few time a year for work. It is well located in the center of the city and near the river. Unfortunatly, this time, it was very noisy. I was in the business section but Kids were running in the coridors and smalling doors most of the evening. I could also hear the TV next room...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreicate your continued business. We do apologize that your stay wasn't as enjoyable as it has been previously. It sounds like you may have visited us over a hockey weekend and unfortunately with all the teams we in on those weekends, it can tend to be a bit more noisy. We do have continued monitering of the hall on these higher occupancy weekends to try and keep the noise level to a minimum as well a curfew is in place for when the halls need to be vacated.

Again, we do apologize and hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    107
    100
    33
    25
See reviews for
107
68
13
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel during a week long business trip in late Sept 2013. It is most comfortable with a good range of facilities and centrally located for all that downtown Peterborough has to offer (restaurants, ice hockey, Little Lake, Lift Lock etc). Without exception all staff were very polite and I was made to feel most welcome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Many rooms have a great view of Little Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_garside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront!

We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend with 15-17 other families for a hockey tournament. While the indoor/outdoor pool is great for the kids and the location is scenic on the water side, the whole area where the hotel is located is generally very run down and seedy. Huge gangs of young men seem to like to hang out at the Tim Hortons parking lot directly across the street well into the night which was not very comfortable for the young families coming and going from the hotel. Generally we found the hotel to be very run down, dirty, smelly (especially the stairwells) and badly in need of renovating. Our entire party was located on the third floor, mostly facing the street - unfortunately the balconies off of these rooms are badly designed and flood in a rainstorm. Two nights in a row, we woke up to find at least an inch of water on the balconies and water seeping into the rooms through the closed balcony doors. The carpets were soaked for several feet in front of the balcony doors. Being fully booked, there was no where else to go, so the staff gave us small fans to blow over the carpets which were ineffective. A request to the front desk that perhaps a discount on the room might be in order, fell on deaf ears. We were charged the full amount plus charged for an extra $100 damage deposit on check-in without being informed and had to call the hotel on our return home for this to be reversed. In addition, when we asked for an empty conference room for a team function one night, we were kindly offered a room at no charge but on arriving found that it had not been cleaned up from the previous function. There was food spilled all over the dirty tablecloths and carpet and leftovers still in the room. We had to strip the tablecloths off the tables ourselves, leaving us to eat off of bare plywood tables. Needless to say we will not be going back here.

Room Tip: Do not stay on 2nd or 3rd floor facing street in a rain storm. Balconys flood and leak into rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank restaurantcritic_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback of our recent stay at our hotel. We apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. You are correct, the Tim Hortons across the street can at times tend to attract all sorts of individuals including those you refer to. We do work with the owners and the police to ensure regular drive bys to constantly check on that area. Those that are causing issues are moved along.

With respect to the meeting room, on large city wide tournament weekends such as The Nationals tournament last weekend, we offer a common meeting room for all teams to use. We do expect each of the teams to utilize the garbage and recycling bins in the rooms to clean up after their event. We do have members of our staff visit the room two to three times per day to also assit in keeping the room tidy. Some teams are more respectful about this than others. We apologize if you're team visited inbetween the time that our staff serviced the room.

In severe rain storms, it is true that some of our balconies were not sloped correctly upon installation 40 years ago. This is something we will correct in 2015 when we undergo a multi million dollar renovation, which will also update the look and feel of the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will reconsider your decision to visit our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great location, right on the river, directly adjacent to Little Lake. In the summer you are two blocks from downtown and one block to Peterborough's Festival of lights. (and there is a Beer Store directly across the road) The staff are professional and friendly. The pool area is ample and clean. Pretty much everything you'd expect from a Holiday Inn with the added bonus of a great patio bar and deck area with some great views.

In the winter you are central to all of Peterborough's Hockey Arenas for all of you tournament trip searchers.

I have stayed in plenty of Holiday Inns in my day, and while they generally do not vary too much in services presented, room size or beds, Peterborough is in the upper level of these hotels. You're close to everything you need and can be assured a comfortable stay.

Cheers from Canada!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! We appreciate your business!

We are situated in a great location for both summer and winter activities and we are happy that you have enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good location overlooking the river. Great staff. Bar had some pretty good burgers. Rooms were renovated at some point, but more work needs to be done on the washroom and the carpet. Building exterior requires a fresh coat of paint. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickidee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us!

The hotel is slated to undergo a property improvement plan towards late 2014 and this will create a more modern and updated feel to the hotel. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

booked last minute through expedia price was good, arrived at hotel room was a two room king suite on the water was clean and comfortable. Had breakfast in the morning it was okay.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone, live entertainment was great by the water and we listened later from the patio

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maui293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront!

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business for 4 nights. Rooms are outdated and dirty. Not much to choose from in Peterbourough. Staff seems friendly and helpful, just the physical property is failing. The back deck and bar seems nice if it had been open. The wifi is free but drops out constantly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bstruckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate all the comments we receive.

The hotel is slated to undergo a property improvement plan towards late 2014 and this will create a more modern and updated feel to the hotel. Our housekeeping team does work tirlessly to ensure our guestrooms are tidy and clean and your comments will be forwarded to our Executive Housekeeping Manager to follow up.

Our Gazebo Patio is open all summer, weather permitting, so if it was raining, unfortunately the patio would have been closed.

Our internet connections exceed the requirements of the brand standard so depending on the size of the content you are downloading, there could be an issue if it exceeds 4mb. We do have staff on site to help should any issues arise.

Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
469 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
205 reviews
9.0 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough

Property: Holiday Inn Peterborough
Address: 150 George St N, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Friendliest Service Among Peterborough, Ontario Hotels Located In the heart of the Kawarthas, the Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough Waterfront is ideally situated along the Trent Severn Waterway in the downtown business and shopping district with 60 restaurants within walking distance. Our hotel's central location puts you near the world's highest hydraulic lift lock and Canada's only Canoe Museum, 1.5 km from our hotel. Peterborough hosts numerous festivals throughout the year, such as summer's Festival of Lights and is home to popular arts facilities, like Showplace Performance Centre. You'll also find some of the best shopping opportunities in downtown Peterborough. Lodging here puts business travelers near GE Canada, Siemens, Pepsi-QTG, De Laval, Ministry of Natural Resources and other businesses in Peterborough. Our hotel's amenities include over 650 sq. m. of meeting space, catering services and a 24-hour Business Centre. From the indoor/outdoor pool and whirlpool to the kid's playroom and recreation room, our Peterborough hotel's amenities keep you entertained. Enjoy a meal at the Riverside Grill, visit the Fitness Centre and relax in a 100% nonsmoking guest room or suite featuring comfortable beds with triple-sheeted mattresses, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV and more. We invite you to stay at our hotel in Peterborough, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough Ontario
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing