We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clsoe to Marina: friendly service top to bottom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Manotick
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Clsoe to Marina: friendly service top to bottom”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were travelling by small boat and stayed at the Peterborough Marina, a short walk from the hotel. While not a luxurious inn, the hotel was clean, comfortable, and close to excellent restaurants (including one in the hotel recommended by another inn-keeper). While on a busy street, it was also quiet. Check-in was fast, friendly and helpful advice was offered. Every staff member we encountered from the service man to housekeeping and restaurant staff had a friendly greeting and a smile. Perhaps this is now standard, but a nice feature was the availability of pillows of different thicknesses. The only drawback (and we had to reach to find one) was the length of the hallway from reception to the far end (near the marina).

Room Tip: If you are staying at the Marina, book a slip on "D Dock" and ask for a room overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel and thank you for choosing to stay with us! Our staff prides themselves on our service culture and we're so happy to know that it shows!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    108
    102
    34
    25
See reviews for
109
70
13
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family of 3 stayed at this hotel for a family reunion in the area in July of 2013. This was the perfect place for such a stay. The hotel is in a great location right along side the waterway. There is a large grass area with picnic tables and lots of space for kids to run around. The facility has an excellent pool that is partially indoors and partially outdoors.

The rooms were typical Holiday Inn rooms that were not overly spacious but certainly adequate and clean. The bathrooms were a bit cramped.

There is a very good restaurant on site that we ate at twice during our stay. Both times we sat out on the large patio overlooking the water. The wait staff a the restaurant were plentiful and amazing at what they did. I was very impressed with their enthusiasm and attention to detail for a casual hotel restaurant.

If in Peterborough again, I would not even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac2476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property!

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I come every year for our anniversary to this hotel. We always request a room higher up. We pay extra for the river front because we love sitting on the balcony and watching the river and the activity on it and at the gazbo restaurant. I can not believe the people who complain that they faced the street, but they did not pay the extra for riverfront. The front desk is amazing and this year we had an extra special check in woman. Her name was Michelle and she went the extra mile. Yes the hotel was built quite awhile ago, but they keep it up, and we always enjoy it. The rooms are a decent size and have a frig, decent television, a good bathroom and decent towells. The maids are friendly and very helpful. Donna Williams, outlet manger is very people orientated, knows how to make people happy, and Holiday Inn are lucky to have her. The Gazbo Restaurant is right on the river, and lots of people in the hotel, people that come from outside the restaurant and boaters all seem to enjoy eating and drinking there. Right on the river and it is summertime. They do have a fancy restaurant in the hotel but we prefer being outside in the summer. They have a decent sized parking lot, and also supply you with a morning paper. That is the reason we return each year for our anniversary.

Room Tip: We prefer the upper floors facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBJOHNSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel and congratulations on your anniversary! We're honoured that you spend such a special time with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again next year and appreciate your continued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Overall experience was good,
Staff are nice and kind but one of them didn't give me my invoice, saying that it has been sent to my email inbox, which wasn't true, I was forced to recall back to send another copy!!!
Room, was perfect clean, nice, etc... except the chlorine smell of the pool and the pool light which pass from the top and the bottom of the curtains. 1st floor , I know, but I wasn't expecting that.
Breakfast was very yummy, I looked for the dinner but it was very expensive, I preferred to go outside.Location is OK too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharos101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront!

We're happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. We appreciate all the feedback that we receive from our guests and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We traveled with our daughters, ages 5 & 7 yrs for a 2 day neurological developmental session for our youngest but it ended up feeling like a vacation! All the staff, from the front desk, the cleaning service, and everyone at the Riverside Grill was wonderful. Any travel for us is extremely challenging because our 5 yr old has a very restrictive diet. At the time we traveled she was on the GAPS diet between stages 2-3 which is pretty much gluten free, dairy free, sugar free and starch free. I called the Riverside Grill before we arrived and spoke with Chef Hugh, to see what was possible, and really to see what I'd need to bring with me. After listing all our dietary restrictions, Hugh didn't even skip a beat, and he start listing all the options that he could make for our daughter! By the time we arrived, Hugh had researched the diet and proposed several meal options for her. The communication between, hostess, servers and the kitchen was incredible. I literally didn't have to worry about a thing.
Thank you for turning our trip into a vacation for us all!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view and balcony from the river view room we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Owner at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have a very dedicated and talented team in our kitchen! I will definitely pass along your message letting know them know much you appreciated the time they took to ensure that your daughter's dietary requirements were met!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed with my children. They loved the pool even though very dated and small. It is half indoor and half outdoor. Supposed to be a leisure person on staff there but could never find her. Pool very small! Fortunately there were not many others at the pool. Rooms seemed clean but the carpets in the public areas smelled musty and of carpet deoderizer. We had a room over looking the road and Tim Horton's. Never again! There was so much noise and some idiot racing his car at 3am, I was livid! Breakfast was a pretty good deal. $10 for buffet for me and free for my children. The Riverside Grill main menu however was very pricey even though kids eat free, wasn't worth it, so we ate elsewhere. Staff were very nice, got a late check out which was very helpful having children so we could swim longer and then have a place to change. All in all, my kids enjoyed it but needs a facelift, bigger pool.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the city view side. Only get a room on the water or you will be awake all night long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! I am happy to hear that for the most part, you and your children enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel is slated to undergo a property improvement plan which will updated the look and feel of the hotel. The cityview rooms do tend to be a bit noiser as they face a busy downtown street, but our riverview guestrooms in the back of the hotel do provide a quieter more serence atmosphere. The pool is definitely a draw for many return families and it is the only indoor/outdoor pool in the city and it is open year round. Kids love it!

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed here in June for 1 night, $152 later, I found my room to be clean, the bathroom was clean, and the furniture, tv, and amenities like Wi-Fi, fridge and coffee maker were all in working order and fairly new. When I awoke the next morning I was told breakfast is available in the on site restaurant but it is not complimentary which would have added some value to the price of the room. Overall I found this choice for accommodations clean, but the staff seemed a little snobby to deal with , I ended up forgetting something in the room , and when I went back to inform the staff a couple hours later management demanded a receipt! in order to replace it, the item was under $15 so I took the loss, if anybody out there travels with receipts of everything they bring with them to a hotel I would like to know. With several more options in the area, I would not recommend this property or stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyrozner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the kind comments about the cleanliness of our property!

With respect to the item that you left behind in your guestroom and as discussed with the General Manger of the hotel, Terry Merrill, an offer was made to reimburse you for your item. Terry explained that in order to get a cheque for the amount, a receipt for the item would need to be submitted to the accountant for reimbursement. When you called to say you couldn’t locate your receipt, Terry then offered you a discount of the value of your item on a future stay. While the hotel would normally not be held accountable for any lost items, the offer was made as a good will gesture. Terry provided you a phone number to call him direct and encourages you to call him again as your review is different than what he understands transpired in that conversation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
485 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
178 reviews
9.0 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough

Property: Holiday Inn Peterborough
Address: 150 George St N, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Friendliest Service Among Peterborough, Ontario Hotels Located In the heart of the Kawarthas, the Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough Waterfront is ideally situated along the Trent Severn Waterway in the downtown business and shopping district with 60 restaurants within walking distance. Our hotel's central location puts you near the world's highest hydraulic lift lock and Canada's only Canoe Museum, 1.5 km from our hotel. Peterborough hosts numerous festivals throughout the year, such as summer's Festival of Lights and is home to popular arts facilities, like Showplace Performance Centre. You'll also find some of the best shopping opportunities in downtown Peterborough. Lodging here puts business travelers near GE Canada, Siemens, Pepsi-QTG, De Laval, Ministry of Natural Resources and other businesses in Peterborough. Our hotel's amenities include over 650 sq. m. of meeting space, catering services and a 24-hour Business Centre. From the indoor/outdoor pool and whirlpool to the kid's playroom and recreation room, our Peterborough hotel's amenities keep you entertained. Enjoy a meal at the Riverside Grill, visit the Fitness Centre and relax in a 100% nonsmoking guest room or suite featuring comfortable beds with triple-sheeted mattresses, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV and more. We invite you to stay at our hotel in Peterborough, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough Ontario
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing