We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drop-in at the restaurant for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Peterborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Drop-in at the restaurant for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

While arriving could not expect that a standard Holliday Inn may offer such a decent and very appreciable food service. For a sunday luch, a rather limited menu but every thing is prepared with profesionalism, good taste and style. Good onion soup, very tasty gourmet hamburger, attended by a very competent and well behaved Kathryn and entertained by the drop-in of the so sympathetic Chef Ryan. We had a very joyfull Sunday lunch time, bravo to all team including the good guitarist for soft and also style entertaining.

Room Tip: We were there only for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cd_lapointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel!

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed a lovely lunch in our restaurant and were able to experience the exceptional service our staff provides.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    102
    98
    31
    22
See reviews for
102
68
12
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Good location, walking distance to great restaurants and bars. Rooms are clean and spacious. We had a great view of the river. Sun was shining so we sat out on the tiny balcony and drank some wine watching all the activities out on the water. Breakfast was a treat. Best part of the hotel is the friendly, helpful staff.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wapp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks so much for taking a moment to write a review of our hotel!

Our staff pride themselves on the level of service they provide and I am so glad you experienced this during your stay with us.

Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was in Peterborough for two days on business.
The hotel is very easy to find and is located next to the river.
Check in was easy and the staff were friendly, polite and very helpful. This was true of all of the staff at this hotel.
The view from the restaurant is of the river which makes for a pleasant venue. I only ate there on one night and while the starter was poor, the main course and dessert were excellent.
The room was clean but rather dated. Surprisingly, there was no desk, just a small, round dining table with chairs. Wifi access from the room was terrible; it would regularly drop out and was slow. This was also the case in the public areas. I know this a small thing, but when travelling solo on business reliable wifi is important to me - it dropped out whilst writing this review.
My room was on the city/street side of the hotel. As I was travelling on business I felt that the river side rooms were overpriced. The city/street side rooms are quite noisy and this might be a problem if you are a light sleeper.
The hotel gym was equipped with six or seven cardio machines, including a rowing machine. The equipment I used (cross trainer) was in good working order.
There is plenty of parking but it is open to the street.

Room Tip: City/street side rooms are noisy - avoid if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel!

We sincerely appreciate all the feedback provided. Our staff pride themselves on the level of service they deliver and we are so glad you found them to be friendly and professional!

I will follow up with our Maintenance Manager to find out why the wifi wasn't holding. We can understand how this would pose a bit of an issue when it's being depended on.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My volleyball team stayed at this hotel for the weekend of our OCAA tournament. I was very impressed with the hotel in general, however, many things stick out in my mind:
- we were right downtown, close to restaurants, shopping, the beautiful river (I could walk out there from my room), and a Tim Horton's directly across the street! I took a nice walk down the main street (George St.) to explore the shops and was pleasantly surprised by an antique shop, a few clothes shops, and home decor shops.
- the hotel staff were wonderful. They were so polite and friendly for our entire stay. Not one time did I pass ANY hotel staff that did not say hello to me!
- there was a hand-written welcome card on the dresser the day we arrived! This really stood out to me because the art of letter-writing has diminished, and I thought it was really thoughtful to leave a note!
- the hotel is updated and CLEAN! The bathrooms were spotless, there were no ugly douvets on the beds (that you know never get washed!), and the room was very well put together!
- the beds were very comfortable, as were the pillows (your choice of firm or soft)
Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here and will recommend this hotel to any friends/family staying in Peterborough.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the river side, even if you're staying in the winter. It is beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront. We appreciate it very much!

Our staff go above and beyond to ensure that each of our guests have a memorable experience and we're thrilled we were able to make you stay so enjoyable.

Hopefully your stay was capped off with a winning volleybally team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying here last night and we had a phenomenal experience.

The staff were polite, attentive and treated us like we were their main priority. The room as well as the hotel and property were clean and well maintained. The room we stayed in had a gorgeous bathroom with a large 2 person jacuzzi as well as a large shower which we took full advantage of. Both the restaurant patio and the balcony offered a scenic view of the river.

We enjoyed two meals during our stay and both our dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were delicious and cooked to perfection. Try the Baked Brie appetizer if you get the chance!

We would definitely stay here again and suggest it to anyone looking for a hotel in the Peterborough area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank for for taking the time to write a great review of our hotel!

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom and our Riverside Grill restaurant while you stayed with us. The Baked Brie alone is definitely worth returning for!

We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hubby and I decided to stay here as a belated anniversary and de-stress weekend. We have stayed here before but never in the winter. I was looking forward to the saltwater indoor/outdoor pool & just relaxing.
Our check in was quick & the front desk staff were friendly & in good spirits (as usual)
We found out that the hotel had upgraded us from a basic city view room to a river side suite. How wonderful! We were given room 450 & I may never be able to stay in any other room again - it was perfect!
We received a 2nd surprise- a knock at the door & a beautiful appetizer tray of cheese, meats, & crackers. This was a gift from the hotel, along with a beautiful hand written card wishing us a happy anniversary! This brought tears to my eyes - such a sweet & caring gesture.

The room has a king-sized bed, long dresser with flat screen tv on top, dvd player, table & chair for laptop/work area, recliner chair, 2 bedside night stands.
A sliding glass door leads to a balcony with a magnificent view of the river.

Now to the area that I spent most of my time-the beautiful bathroom. I had already planned to soak in a bath on this getaway (just not something that I do at home). When I stepped into this spacious room, I was blown away!
Beautiful marble counter tops, lots of white fluffy towels, beautiful glass enclosed shower, complete with an overhead rain shower head, & an adjustable height or hand held shower head. And the tub,not just any tub,this was a beautiful jacuzzi tub! It was heaven to be able to soak my troubles away.

We spent Friday evening at Bernie's Tap & Grill just off the main lobby, within the dining area. Had a lovely evening with Cory, our bartender and a duo band called the Water's Edge. We had some food there & it was fantastic. (the baked brie was amazing!!! Thank you Cory)

We have always loved this hotel and have stayed there in the summer and the fall when there are events on the outdoor patio & grill. I can now highly recommend a winter stay there too!

Thank you to all of the Holiday Inn staff and Management - you made our weekend so much better!!

Room Tip: The hotel was full of hockey teams and lots of kids running around - we were not disturbed by noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawnee-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review on our hotel!

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we were able to help make your belated anniversary weekend a memorable one for you and your husband. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Rented the newly renovated suite and was most impressed with the end result, modern and had all the bells and whistles..Overlooking the river, close to Downtown, the property"s location is hard to beat. Enjoyed a great breakfast in the hotel"s restaurant and was served by the hotels Employee of the Year !!, very nice stay over all and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Try and book a room on the River side, nice view..enjoy the indoor / outdoor pool,open year round !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenityKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. A lot of time and consideration went into the renovations of our suites and it's nice to see such great comments about them!

Thank you again for you staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
8.9 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough

Property: Holiday Inn Peterborough
Address: 150 George St. N., Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Friendliest Service Among Peterborough, Ontario Hotels Located In the heart of the Kawarthas, the Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough Waterfront is ideally situated along the Trent Severn Waterway in the downtown business and shopping district with 60 restaurants within walking distance. Our hotel's central location puts you near the world's highest hydraulic lift lock and Canada's only Canoe Museum, 1.5 km from our hotel. Peterborough hosts numerous festivals throughout the year, such as summer's Festival of Lights and is home to popular arts facilities, like Showplace Performance Centre. You'll also find some of the best shopping opportunities in downtown Peterborough. Lodging here puts business travelers near GE Canada, Siemens, Pepsi-QTG, De Laval, Ministry of Natural Resources and other businesses in Peterborough. Our hotel's amenities include over 650 sq. m. of meeting space, catering services and a 24-hour Business Centre. From the indoor/outdoor pool and whirlpool to the kid's playroom and recreation room, our Peterborough hotel's amenities keep you entertained. Enjoy a meal at the Riverside Grill, visit the Fitness Centre and relax in a 100% nonsmoking guest room or suite featuring comfortable beds with triple-sheeted mattresses, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV and more. We invite you to stay at our hotel in Peterborough, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough Ontario
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing