We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escape and Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Kingston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Escape and Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Rented the newly renovated suite and was most impressed with the end result, modern and had all the bells and whistles..Overlooking the river, close to Downtown, the property"s location is hard to beat. Enjoyed a great breakfast in the hotel"s restaurant and was served by the hotels Employee of the Year !!, very nice stay over all and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Try and book a room on the River side, nice view..enjoy the indoor / outdoor pool,open year round !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenityKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. A lot of time and consideration went into the renovations of our suites and it's nice to see such great comments about them!

Thank you again for you staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    102
    98
    32
    23
See reviews for
103
68
13
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Was perfect break between a week of ice fishing, pool/hot tub/ sauna were perfect. didnt have time for the gym. Street side was noisy when heater turned off, awsome water pressure. Wifi was fast. Only real complaint was, we had a late check out of 1400, our access card wasnt opening doors at 1300, pain in the @ss when trying to load the truck and cant get back in your room or the side door.

We will be back, need a couple pet friendly rooms

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to do this! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our Leisure Club area...it is a big hit for our guests! Sorry to hear of the issue with your key. It's understandable that this would be inconvenient for you and hope our front desk staff were able to correct the situation quickly.

Thanks so much for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

No major complaints here. However, my sleep was disturbed by various noises throughout the night. I heard vacuuming and other noises coming from the hallway. Hotel is on the expensive side. A hotel at half the cost (Motel 6) will be used instead next time we are in town. Bathroom is outdated but the bed was comfortable with a thoughtful choice of soft or firm pillows.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, although I am sorry that you experienced a less than pleasant sleep during your stay with us. I will certainly follow up to find out why there would be vaccuming in the hallway so late at night.

We will be undergoing a property inprovement plan in 2014 which will include renovation to all of the bathrooms in the hotel to bring them up to up to date and modern.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn on George Street in Peterborough, ON, and was very impressed. Overlooking the Marina side of the River, very pretty view. Beds were excellent and the mattresses appeared to be brand new or nearly new. Choice of pillow type, double sink bathroom,in-room small refrigerator, nice and quiet. Best of all, the salt-water pool, both indoor and outdoor part was still open at Christmas time, and my niece had a great time swimming from inside to outside while there was snow all around. She thought it was such a treat that her parents will be taking her back there for birthday parties - another service that this hotel offers at a reasonable rate. We will be back next time we are in Peterborough. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 451 offers a view of both the river and the marina - very pretty, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write a review of the hotel and we're so happy you chose to stay with us. Our pool is definitely a big selling feature to kids of all ages! Certainly a treat to be able to swim outside in warm water during the wintertime!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
466 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times on business. It is conveniently located near the downtown area making it possible to walk to walk to restaurants and pubs. The beds are comfortable and staff are friendly. Rooms are utilitarian. I really love the dining room for breakfast overlooking the river. Rooms are overpriced compared to other hotels in Peterborough.

Room Tip: Ask for riverview rooms. The rooms at the front can have a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and thank you for chosing to stay with us! We so happy that you find our location convenient and you enjoyed your stay. Our staff pride themself on being service minded and friendly.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgenorth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The room was beautiful, very clean and I appreciated little extras such as the fresh cream and milk in the fridge for our morning coffee/tea. The bed was so comfortable, if I ever need a new bed I will want to know what kind that was!! (As we usually sleep on a waterbed this is really terrific!). The staff are very friendly and hardworking. We really enjoyed the live music in the bar on Friday night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We're happy to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were travelling with a hockey tournament and the hotel was very accommodating to groups. In fact, I think they were a bit too nice given how much some guests "bent" the rules. They were gentle yet clear when addressing concerns which is preferable to the nasty drill sargeants I've seen at other places. Hospitality rooms were available. My son thought it was "perfect" and "fancy" because of the lovely indoor/outdoor pool and comfortable room. The pool is salt-water which made it much more comfortable to be in the area without burning eyes. A billiard table was available in the pool area. The price was OK and I agree that an included breakfast would have increased the value rating for me. Kids <12 usually eat free so the buffet for one morning was more reasonable but nothing special. The property has a lovely waterfront view and is close to most conveniences. Beware that it borders downtown and an area with a quite a few homeless folks. Despite that, I felt safe and we walked in groups. The only thing I was uncomfortable with was the excessive use of air freshener in the public areas - rather nauseating. Fortunately, I didn't notice it in our room. Overall, one of the better tournament hotels I've experienced.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the water have king bed with sofabed & fridge. Rooms facing road have 2 doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope your team will come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.0 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough

Property: Holiday Inn Peterborough
Address: 150 George St. N., Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Friendliest Service Among Peterborough, Ontario Hotels Located In the heart of the Kawarthas, the Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough Waterfront is ideally situated along the Trent Severn Waterway in the downtown business and shopping district with 60 restaurants within walking distance. Our hotel's central location puts you near the world's highest hydraulic lift lock and Canada's only Canoe Museum, 1.5 km from our hotel. Peterborough hosts numerous festivals throughout the year, such as summer's Festival of Lights and is home to popular arts facilities, like Showplace Performance Centre. You'll also find some of the best shopping opportunities in downtown Peterborough. Lodging here puts business travelers near GE Canada, Siemens, Pepsi-QTG, De Laval, Ministry of Natural Resources and other businesses in Peterborough. Our hotel's amenities include over 650 sq. m. of meeting space, catering services and a 24-hour Business Centre. From the indoor/outdoor pool and whirlpool to the kid's playroom and recreation room, our Peterborough hotel's amenities keep you entertained. Enjoy a meal at the Riverside Grill, visit the Fitness Centre and relax in a 100% nonsmoking guest room or suite featuring comfortable beds with triple-sheeted mattresses, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV and more. We invite you to stay at our hotel in Peterborough, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough Ontario
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing