We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price”
Review of Blue Jay Motel

Blue Jay Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Jay Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Peterborough B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good price”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Well the price was good but the towels were damp, and getting into bed the sheets also had that dampness feeling, Now i know this is likely due to the humidity and heat of the day. I would have loved to have turned the air conditioner on, but the plug from it did not reach any electrical socket. The room was clean, there was a fridge, coffee maker, tv, meet our needs for the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank qtpi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Not fancy. Very clean, friendly, helpful staff. Conviently located, microwave & fridge, can't get better at that price!!! Only 6 minutes from Peterborough. Will deffinetly return. Kudos to the The Blue Jay Motel111

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beersz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This motel is nothing fancy, but it was clean and served its purpose well. The owner/manager was incredibly friendly and helpful. He offered free pop and water at check-in, and again when we checked-out. He made sure our stay was pleasant.

The fixtures are a bit dated and could use a spruce up, but still worked. I couldn't get the bathroom door to close completely, but that's a small detail.

It would have been nice if the heat had been on when we got there, but since we were dropping our things and heading out it wasn't a big deal. When we got home later that night our room was nice and toasty.

I was concerned about the noise from Hwy 7, but it wasn't an issue, I didn't hear a thing.

We were going to an event in Norwood and the hotel is part way between Peterborough and Norwood which was perfect for us.

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms at this motel, make sure you get a non-smoking room if you don't smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia_F_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well priced motel. Rooms were clean but old and lacked amenities. I would also recommend ear plugs as other guests could be heard when trying to fall asleep.

Owner is very attentive (sometimes too attentive).

Was ok but not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Great people, clean rooms and excellent service. Used the motel for our family holiday for 14 nights, which the owners looked after us very well and always made sure we had everything that we needed, made us feel like we were family, would definatley stay here again and would recommend to others

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

No eating establishments in the immediate area except for Donut shops. but only 7 minutes into Peterborough where there are many restuarants of all varieties.. Great access to the City of Peterborough, the Village of Keene , and the Rice Lake Area.. The rooms have Fridge, Coffee Pot, and Microwave, The Owners and workers are helpful and friendly, we found we wre very well treated, more so than at some major Hotels weve stayed in, It's not the Ritz but if we had to choose we would go back to Blue Jay. and the price is right, it cost us the same for 6 nights as it would have for 2 at a Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine and the beds were comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Great people, nice clean rooms and very reasonable rates - The net connection was perfect for my business needs - We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biztripper1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Motel

Property: Blue Jay Motel
Address: 165 Hwy. No. 7 East,, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 6X8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Jay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Blue Jay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Motel Peterborough, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing