We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Servers Could Use Training In Customer Service”
Review of Rare

Rare
Reserve with OpenTable
Rare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 318 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $95
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Servers Could Use Training In Customer Service”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My family and I have been going to Rare since it opened, for various special occasion and "just because" dinners. The last few times we've gone to Rare, the service has been less than adequate.
The server we had the last few times has been quite 'snobby', and our requests seemed very inconvenient. My father is lactose-intolerant, and thus, we needed to ensure his food wouldn't have dairy in it. I can't express how inferior the server made my family feel when my father asked for a dish that was guarenteed to have no dairy. I think we even saw an eye-roll.
Not only do these people work in the service industry, they work in a restaurant environment; I highly doubt we have been the only table that had a serious allergy needed to be accomodated for.
Though the food has always been superb, we haven't been able to get over this experience; unfortunately, we haven't been back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
“Valentine Wedding Dinner - Wonderful”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My daughter's wedding dinner was held here on Valentines day this year. They had wanted a intimate, quiet wedding and chose Rare to host the dinner. The food was outstanding and the service superb.The owner/chef and his staff were so accommodating. I will be back to this establishment and will highly recommend to all.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Consistency”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

While we only manage a trip here about every six months the meals are always excellently prepared, presented and served. The ingredients are also local when available. An easy New Years resolution for 2014, more frequent visits.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Great Food But Very Noisy Room”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Went to Rare with wife and friends. The restaurant was really quite full with people. Due to the acoustics of the room and the number of people filling it, I found it quite hard to hear the people I was talking to at my own table. This is my only criticism of the restaurant. The owners should think about adding some acoustical treatments on the ceiling and the walls to absorb some of the ambient sound in the room because with 20-25 people in that room it gets quite hard to have a conversation at normal levels of speaking. Steak was really good and properly cooked, wine list is excellent. I would have give this restaurant five stars if not for the issues with ambient noise level.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulDT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I went to Rare with my husband and we absolutely loved it. Everything about our experience was excellent. The food was delicious and the service was great. We have been to many restaurants in the area and Rare is by far the best. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank santulana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare also viewed

Peterborough, Ontario
Peterborough, Ontario
 
Peterborough, Ontario
 

Been to Rare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing