We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Peterborough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rare

Rare
Reserve with OpenTable
Rare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 312 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $95
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best in Peterborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food. Order the goat cheese and berry pancake appetizer! Trust me.
Great service and nice atmosphere as well. Can't go wrong eating here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rubbish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    18
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak I have had in a long time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are looking for a steak, this is the place, got the RibEye, cooked to perfection! This place is was great, one of the best steaks I have had in a while!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JSTKCCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very full !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We come to Peterborough once a week for "date night". We are also restaurant owners and enjoy trying new places. One of our servers recommended "Rare" as they had a great meal there. I decided a romantic night was in order.
We were seated and served by the owner. Fantastic lady. Drinks were great. Apps were yum and we both highly recommend the filet mignon.... Perfectly cooked, juicy and tasty. Read a review that the portions were small...were they nuts?!?!? We were stuffed at the end and I didn't even finish! Actually I love mushrooms and still left some! The portions are huge folks. I own a restaurant... I know! Drinks, service and food were excellent. Owners amazing. Not a cheap night out but worth it. Wish I ordered the filet mignon....so good...ate my wife's. Very nice place...worth the visit...keep up the great work. Thanks for a great date night!
Cheers
Tawn and Adam

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TappsCottageEatery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhorn, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A gem in Peterborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Toronto standards for sure! Excellent specials, best burger ever! So proud to have a restaurant of this calibre close by! I recommend everyone treat themselves, you deserve to try this burger! Wsh hey delivered to Buckhorn!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best steak around. Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were at Rare March 30th for my wife's birthday. This was our third visit and the food was incredible. Big thanks to Brad and his wife along with staff. We will be back for sure.

Jeff & Marg

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Skinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare also viewed

 

Been to Rare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing