We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rare

Rare
Reserve with OpenTable
Rare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 317 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $95
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The very finest steak coupled with a mushroom risotto and interesting salads make it by far the best restaurant in the city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank par182007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Possibly the best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We LOVED Rare. We decided to come here to celebrate a special occasion and were very impressed. My boyfriend had been here once before and had raved about it, so we were really looking forward to it. I, personally, am not a steak-lover......until Rare. It was the best steak I have ever had. So much flavour, so juicy, and cooked just right. The sides were also exceptional. We ordered a bottle of red and the staff were very helpful in finding us a suitable wine and the presentation was nice.

Negatives: the restaurant is just too crowded. Too many tables and chairs jammed together, and it really ruins the ambience of the place to constantly be backing into someone else's chair. It is a shame, because the place is nicely decorated and suitably-lit but they either need a bigger dining room or less tables!
Also, the dessert was sub-par. I ordered the s'mores and my boyfriend some fruit dessert (I can't remember what now) and they were not that great.

But we will definitely be back, it is the best steak in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rach_cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Steak Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you like steak, you will love this place. Best steak anywhere.
If you don't care for steak there are numerous other options, all of them devine. Cosy atmosphere and friendly staff. Make a reservation well ahead of time if you would like to get a table.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefanie045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were the first three to arrive at the restaurant when it first opened at five pm. We were meeting our nephew whom we had not seen in two years. We told the waiter we did not want to be rushed. He was very accommodating. We three had soup,salad main course and desert. The filets were excellent, the vegetables nice and hot. I am not a desert person but iI took tastes. I would say they were average. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. We stayed for quite a while after paying for our dinner and felt comfortable doing so.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food/average atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

The food at Rare is very good. Everything is so tasty. However, it's expensive, and I found the portions a bit small (you could always order an extra side dish) so be sure to go for apps too if you have a good appetite.
The only thing that sways us from going to Rare, is that its such a small dinning room, that it can feel cramped, and lacks atmosphere.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ptboNoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare also viewed

Peterborough, Ontario
Peterborough, Ontario
 
Peterborough, Ontario
 

Been to Rare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing