We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive”
Review of Rare

Rare
Reserve with OpenTable
Rare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 318 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $95
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
peterborough
Level Contributor
216 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

For Peterborough the food is good, but not great. The chef is the owner, and was the chef a few years ago at the Irwin Inn (which is not good either).

We went as a group and the service is just ok as they should have had more than one person serving us. So the food was slow coming and yes I ordered steak that was recomended by the server. I could not chew through it as others that were with me ordered the same thing and it was all tough, tough, tough, Sent it back, they did not even offer a replacement and still charged us full fair.

Would never go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank atti2ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Pricey, but great.”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Visited with a group of 8 – great Cesar Salad, Ribeye with Creamed Spinach and Mushrooms, which was delicious, and thoroughly enjoyed the S’mores dessert!

Prices were on the high side, but food was great, so while it won’t be a regular stop for us, we would definitely recommend it to others, and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“As good as it gets for a steak dinner!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The rib eye and strip loin steaks were tender, flavor full and cooked to perfection. The service was attentive and well paced. It would be difficlult to find a better tasting and presented meal at any higher end restauant in any major city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

lacking ambience...but the food and cuts of meat are terrific...repeat customer for sure

Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Lacking Service”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Rare has always been in my Top 3 category when it comes to Peterborough dining. Our last visit there didn't disappoint with regards to food, but we were let down terribly by the service. The dining room was a quarter full when we arrived, yet our server did not take the time to provide us with the evening's features. He failed to give us proper wine service by allowing us to fill our own glasses, and did not quality check our food. Luckily, the appetizers, entrees and desserts were delicious! We felt that our server's presence was devoid of personality, very much in contrast with the service we have received there in the past.
We are not ready to give up on Rare just yet, but the next time we visit we will request a different server.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gastronomiquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare also viewed

Peterborough, Ontario
Peterborough, Ontario
 
Peterborough, Ontario
 

Been to Rare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing