We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Time, Great Place for Family Cottaging”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort
Reviewed March 6, 2012

After booking out stay at Lancaster, we finally arrived at this small, quiet location on the south tip of Chemung Lake. We were treated by the friendly office staff and management, and shown our cottage. I can not relate to any of the negative comments on this site, because it clearly states on the website that the lake is weedy. That is what the heated salt water pool is for. We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to get a seasonal spot for our trailer there, and have been loving it for the last 2 years! Friendly staff, couples with the quaint environment, and beautiful sights and sounds of the kawarthas are enough to forget home. Thanks Lancaster,
Brian, Brian, Robert, and Lois.

Room Tip: Any room is nice, but the water front ones are definitely a must
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear when people enjoy their stay with us. We especialy like when they enjoy it so much that they want to be here every year. Our resort is just how you explained it - friendly staff, quaint environment, beautiful sights and sounds of the Kawarthas. See you again this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

The owners are very friendly and quickly attended to any concerns we had with the cottage, but over-all it was not a great place to stay. If there had been no pool, we likely would have left much sooner. The cottage we rented wasn't the cleanest...there were broken blinds in the living room/bedroom...our bathroom had an odour of 'backed up sewage' constantly. We spent most of our time in Peterborough as there were no real activities going on at the "resort". We met and chatted with various people who were also renting the cottages/trailers, and they were also very disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellybean99Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

I am sorry to hear that this cottager thought we were not a great place to stay. I don't like to respond to people's opinions but I will address some things. We do offer all of our advertised activities listed on our website. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had a fantastic time. The owners were amazing, the park was peaceful. The only complaint I have is once we were moved to a cottage that everything was working was it wasnt cleaned the best. Under the bunk bed mattress was bars of soap candy wrappers pretty much a bunch of garbage. The other thing was that if you ran your microwave you couldnt have anything else in the cottage running or you would blow the main breaker so in the dark walking over to the main breaker wasnt fun. But otherwise I would go back :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for your review. You're right! When we upgraded your cottage to the larger one with satelite television we just a quick clean to get you in and had missed some things. Sorry about that. And, you are right again, our cottages/park model homes only have 30 amp service so its not like a hotel or your house - sometimes the breakers do blow. We do hope you come back again so you can have another fantastic time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We loved the cottage, pool, very convenient location. The only thing we missed is not much planned activities for kids and the playground was very small and terrible condition as well as the Gazebo. The place was very quiet during our stay. Interior the cottage was nice and clean except for the curtains, which were falling apart. We were happy to have A/C and worked very well. The people taking care of the property were very nice. We have been to different cottages since many years and with some minor improvements, this cottage would be the best. We would go back definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReshuShrestha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Manager at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We hope you are able to make it back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

To all the negative reviewers of this resort I must say thank you for I will never have to meet you there.We searched the web, made our reservations and the three of us went(me ,the wife and of course the dog).We found the website very acurate.The wheather the trailer and the other friendly guests all made for a most enjoyable stay and so close to town.Cannot wait to return soon.Thanks again Rick and Shelley

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golden54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Thank you so much for your review of our resort. It really makes us happy to know you had a good time and that we will be seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time. It was very relaxing. We got to spend time with our daughter, son-in-law and grandkids. They only live 10 minutes away. The resort's hospitality was great. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckb8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

Thank you for your review of our resort and all of your kind words. We are glad you had a relaxing time. That is what is vacation is all about.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The location of this place was fine however; there were a number of issues that will prevent us from ever staying here again.

-trailer was not winterized leaving us with no water for up to 1-2 days
-some staff were not pleasant to deal with (especially old man in the office)
-being students, a 9 month contract (Sept.-May) did not work for us so we were told our family would be able to stay there for the month of May. Once we left we were told renovations were going to take place so our family could not stay and no refund would be granted.

If you would like to be treated with disrespect and get ripped off, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tdaytona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Lancaster Resort would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write a review of our resort on Trip Advisor. As the owner of Lancaster Resort, I will not dispute personal opinions but will respond to inaccuracies to better inform potential vacationers. I would like to start by saying that we were never informed by these guests that they were in anyway upset or not satisfied with their stay here. In fact, they stated several times that they absolutely loved it here. Our units are winterized but when it becomes very cold (below 20) the odd time we do have a waterline freeze. However, a situation like this is was, and always is, resolved within the same day. During the winter months we have our units available from September to May. In this case, our guests signed our agreement stating that they wanted to stay for that time period. The agreement also states that we do not permit additional renters and that if a winter rental guests chooses to leave before the end of their agreement, they lose their last month deposit. Sometimes it is very difficult for us to rent out units during the winter which is why we have this rule. Because of how nice these people were I decided to try to help them out. I informed them that I would try to rent out the unit for their last month so that I could give them back some or all of their deposit. Near the end of the month we decided that with the unit empty and no renters interested, we would use this time to try to insulate the waterline better and do some reno’s to the unit. We were never given the opportunity to address any unhappiness with this guest as that is not how we were told by them that they felt. In fact, we waived additional fees (multiple vehicles, multiple boat storages, canoe storage, visitors fees ) for them because they were so pleasant to deal with. As well, our “old man in the office” helped them on many occasions to boost their vehicles and their exchange was always pleasant and courteous. I am completely surprised and shocked by the negative comments from these very lovely people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
6.2 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,587 reviews
10.7 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
104 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Lindsay
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
215 reviews
6.9 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort

Address: 691 Frank Hill Rd, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 6X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Peterborough
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Cottage & Trailer Resort. We are a family resort located in the Kawarthas on Chemong Lake. Our location is great! Only 10 minutes from Peterborough and under 90 minutes from Toronto. We offer 50 full service seasonal trailer sites. Enjoy fun family activities such as, swimming in our heated in-ground pool, fishing in the weedy Chemong Lake, boating, relaxation and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lancaster Cottage And Trailer Resort Peterborough, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing