We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Peterborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Peterborough
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
194 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good value and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel was one of the few hotels with rooms available in town when I was there. Super 8 is not where I would normally stay when travelling. I am in Peterborough regularly for business and will be switching to this hotel. It is a good price and the rooms were fine, comfortable bed, big tv, good washroom, and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a breakfast that is adequate...the ever popular waffle maker was there. They offer eggs but no meat which would have been nice but with the yogurts, bagels, cheese, cream cheese, and fruit, there was certainly enough there. This hotel is good value for money and will get my business again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    579
    174
    48
    24
See reviews for
741
285
73
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

After checking out Tripadvisor we decided to stay at the Super 8 too ! Even though we booked 3 months in advance and asked for adjoining rooms to be near our family we were a floor apart. The staff were very courteous and efficient upon arrival and check-out. There was a soccer tournament that same weekend with "tons" of kids ... we expected the worst and got the best ... breakfast bar was always well stocked ... not a lineup ... staff were always checking and refilling as needed ! The room was clean and compact ... the bedding was very nice and inviting with crisp white bedding with a fluffy duvet ! A good place to lay your head that won't beak the bank !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariegilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Super 8 Peterborough, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to learn of your positive experience with our associates. We recognize that genuinely warm hospitality and professional service are always appreciated by our guests.

Despite a busy sports weekend it’s wonderful to know that you too had a pleasant stay. We understand that our many guests travel for a variety of reasons – as a hallmark of our commitment to providing the best hospitality, we take the proactive step of personally calling each guest who is arriving on a sports weekend to provide details of levels of activity that they may expect.

Thank you too for feedback concerning our bed comfort. We have just rolled out a new Super 8 top-of-bed program which includes a stylish new bed cover design and WynRest® pillow collection.

We are grateful for the opportunity to be your accommodations provider in Peterborough, Ontario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Over all a great stay for the money. good breakfast, nice clean rooms, all non-smoking and the in-suite hot tub was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Kevin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

we stayed there about month ago. even then I was shocked how different reviews were from the reality. following it up now - I'm sure some reviews are not describinh the place we stayed - less than average, with small pool, cold water, small dining room with people standing waiting for the table to put the plate on, lienens not clean etc. Sincere advice - stay away from this hotel if you can! BTW, the manager id defensive and not helpfull at all!

Room Tip: stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlad v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken K, General Manager at Super 8 Peterborough, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
As Peterborough’s most frequently reviewed property on Tripadvisor the travelling public can rely upon a broad range of opinions, experiences and photographs shared by genuine guests who have firsthand knowledge of our property, just like you.

Though our pool may be busy at times and our breakfast bar can be full during peak periods resulting in waits for seating, we strive to offer creative solutions such as the convenience of carry-out trays so that breakfast may be enjoyed in the comfort of our guestrooms.

It is evident from your comments and from our subsequent follow up with you that you are disappointed with a couple key aspects of our service and facility. I would like to apologize for this and any lack of understanding or care that we failed to extend to you. We welcome all feedback; accept criticism in the spirit in which it is offered, and appreciate the opportunity to improve upon this experience the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.3 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
10.8 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Peterborough

Property: Super 8 Peterborough
Address: 1257 Lansdowne St.W., Peterborough, Ontario K9J 7M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Peterborough 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 100% smoke-free property provides easy access to major routes and is situated close to downtown Peterborough. Super 8 Peterborough is a new kind of hotel that puts style, innovation and friendly service within everyone's reach. Super 8 Peterborough offers guest rooms and suites, meeting room, an indoor pool, whirlpool spa, onsite coin laundry, fitness room and our complimentary SuperStart® breakfast — making it the perfect place to host your meeting or accommodate you while staying in the Peterborough area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Super 8 Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Peterborough Super Eight
Peterborough Super 8
Super 8 Peterborough Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing