We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down the best place to be at while exploring Pelee Island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scudder Beach Bar & Grill

Scudder Beach Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
1 review
“Hands down the best place to be at while exploring Pelee Island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. Ice cold beer. Friendly staff aswell as the locals. Nightlife is excellent with the entertainment they have every weekend. Beautiful view of the bay on the north end of Pelee Island. Will definetly return for a meal and some drinks on the patio. Steps from the marina and the local grocery store. Try the perch. It is amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeleeExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    31
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

we stopped by to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail and stayed for a second as we were enjoying the conversation with the bartender and fellow imbibers. We learned that the bar was the old grocery store and there may be a ghost or two lurking about in the basement. Great location on the water, they do pig roasts in the summer. Looking forward to returning next year.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good basic pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beer was extra cold.
Staff were very friendly
Fryer oil was old and needed to be changed.
Prices reasonable considering that everything is brought in by ferry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDougA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
323 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good basic pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

With very limited choices on Pelee Island this was a reasonably priced place with good basic seafood.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlanticTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Few places to eat on island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

There are not many places to pick from to eat on Pelee island. This was away from the ferry dock. The service was good and the food was normal bar food. The staff was real friendly and so were the locals. We went out and swam on the beach which turned out to be the best beach area we tried. Nice sand and calm waters . Other areas were pebbley and wavey. We left and then returned later for a another brown pop.
We then ate later at thier other restaurant at the pier. The air conditioning sucked. We sat in the room that had the ac and it was still warm. The service and food here was good also.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MOREOFLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scudder Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Pelee Island, Ontario
Pelee Island, Ontario

Been to Scudder Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing