We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic pub food”

Scudder Beach Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good basic pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beer was extra cold.
Staff were very friendly
Fryer oil was old and needed to be changed.
Prices reasonable considering that everything is brought in by ferry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDougA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    31
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
322 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good basic pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

With very limited choices on Pelee Island this was a reasonably priced place with good basic seafood.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlanticTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Few places to eat on island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

There are not many places to pick from to eat on Pelee island. This was away from the ferry dock. The service was good and the food was normal bar food. The staff was real friendly and so were the locals. We went out and swam on the beach which turned out to be the best beach area we tried. Nice sand and calm waters . Other areas were pebbley and wavey. We left and then returned later for a another brown pop.
We then ate later at thier other restaurant at the pier. The air conditioning sucked. We sat in the room that had the ac and it was still warm. The service and food here was good also.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOREOFLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great time Freindly People”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a great time and our service was great. It is a secluded place so the food wasnt world class. However for us the service was good and the people very freindly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

the short dark haired, bartender/waitress, sucks. the three times we where there she couldn't get an order right. very unqualified for the job!!! personality of a black widow!! it was like we where bothering her being there.. and everyone on the deck was in talking about just leaving.
to bad cause it has a nice deck, if you like sitting out there without a drink, for 15 mins..
and it wasn't even busy. sorry that was only half she couldn't get our order rightttt!!!!!!! nor anyone else's!!!!!!! beware..

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank helen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber H, Manager at Scudder Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We at Scudder Beach would like to extend are appoliges for the bad experence you had here back in June. I have just discovered this web site or else I would have writen sooner. The start of our 2012 season didn't not go well with ferry brake downs, understaffing and problems with kitchen staff. We hope to be better prepared in 2013 and that you consider returning to see inprovments. We are working harder to bring our service up to the best on the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scudder Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Pelee Island, Ontario
Pelee Island, Ontario

Been to Scudder Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing