We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible service”

The Anchor and Wheel Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelee Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchor and Wheel Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Pelee Island B&B and Inns
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

We wanted to spend two night camping on the island. We had our choice between this place and the east park campground. I phoned the inn for reservations a month ago. The man who took the call was extremely abrupt and rude. I didnt have a good feeling about things. Two days before we were supposed to leave for the vacation I called just to confirm the reservation - it wasnt in the book. The same man as before was again rude and unhelpful and completely uninterested in keeping the reservation or not. So I told him to forget about it. I phoned up the East Park Campground and was dealt with very professionally and politely. Based on just two phone calls, this place lost my business not only for camping, but I have no intention of going there for food either.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank talon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    4
    7
    16
See reviews for
10
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We just got back from staying on Pelee Island this Friday-Sunday. If you like to get away from it all, kick back and enjoy the splendors of flora and fauna, this is a great place. The ferry connections went off without a hitch, and everyone on the island was as pleasant as they come. We felt right at home, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the The Anchor & Wheel Inn. The Inn contains easily the best restaurant on the island, and a good quality free breakfast each morning is included. We stayed in room #5, and found it clean, warm, comfortable, and inviting. There are several interesting sites on the island that you can access via bicycle or on foot. We enjoyed a bottle of late harvest wine from the island's own vineyard. It was a charming way to spend our weekend visiting the southernmost part of Canada. - Alex and Heather

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoVicta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We could not have done any better than this hotel on Pelee. The best restaurant on the island is part of this hotel. You can stay in the "B&B" or camp on the grounds. The B&B room we got was bigger than I expected with one double bed, two singles, and in-room bathroom and shower. Laid back, this is not a fancy hotel and minor things may go wrong (our light above the shower went out and staff could not identify the problem). However, the staff was great and gave us an extra plug-in light... in fact, the staff and guests were lots of fun and the place has alot of character. Free breakfast. Would definitely stay there again. Pelee Island is great and the Anchor is a great choice for anyone heading to Pelee.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

My SO and I just got back from a short stay at The Anchor and Wheel. We loved it. Completely a laid back island feel. The Inn itself is historic and filled with all kinds of elcectic and funny treasures scattered about. If you stay at the Inn you will be sleeping in one of the 7 or so bedrooms upstairs and you will share a bathroom. The bathroom is exceptionally clean and big with a fantastic shower room. I had no problem with that. But for those who would like have a more private experience, you can stay at the "cottage" building across the parking lot that feels more like a hotel room. A few of those rooms even have jacuzzi tubs in the bathroom.

The staff was great and welcoming, expecially Debbie. We loved eating outside on the beautiful decks with the huge trees hovering overhead and the warm balmy breeze. Truely a unique and relaxing experience.

Thanks Anchor and Wheel for a great experiece. I will be talking you up to every one I know.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeleeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

the staff at the anchor and wheel inn were great and the Atmosphere was fantastic. The room was just what we were looking for and we were very happy with our stay there. The Island history kept us both busy everyday we were there. We went at a time with out all the tourists so go to know the local people and fell into the laid back feeling of the Island. We have decided to make this a yearly venture and will go back to the anchor and wheel for accomadations. Pelee Island Canadas best kept secret.

  • Liked — the location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Indica63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

Fish Tales Fishing Club is a club from the Chicago area and have been staying at the Anchor wheel for ten years now. We usually have about 30 members that go stay there for a full week with our boats and fish for Walleye and Smallmouth Bass. The owner Mark, treats us like Kings. A special thanks go out the Debbie and the staff. Thank's!
Fred FTFC

  • Liked — FOOD
  • Disliked — Gravel Parking Lot
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hammerhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

I have only ate at the Anchor & Wheel, never actually stayed the night. ( Food is wonderful, very flavourful )

The women's bathroom is my issue. Our dinner party could not figure out why this little boy 10 - 12 yrs old was constantly running out onto the newly constructed deck and coming inside giggling ( the cooks son ). This went on for well over an hour when it was my turn to visit the washroom, I discovered the one stall had the toilet tank lid placed on the seat. Wellll everyone automatically assumed that meant the toilet was out of order so use the other one. This stall has a full length window in it. No one can see anything right! it's frosted. As we arrived at our vehicle, we noticed this young boy again out on the deck so we decided to wait and see what he was up to. We were able to see each women unzip, pull down her pants, wipe herself, stand up and rezip, this young man was having a great time at our expense. Everyone in the parking lot could also sit and watch the show. Mark lost our business for the rest of the weekend. How very degrading,not to mention humiliating! this window issue needs to be dealt with a.s.a.p.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank gigetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelee Island
12.4 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Leamington Hotel & Conference Centre
16.0 mi away
Adams Goldens Acres Motel
Adams Goldens Acres Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Seacliffe Inn
Seacliffe Inn
#2 of 8 in Leamington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
14.6 mi away
Point Pelee Lakeshore B&B
Point Pelee Lakeshore B&B
#3 of 8 in Leamington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor and Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor and Wheel Inn

Property: The Anchor and Wheel Inn
Address: 11 West Shore Drive, Ontario N0R 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Pelee Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Pelee Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Anchor And Wheel Hotel Pelee Island
The Anchor And Wheel Inn Pelee Island, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing