We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Relaxing Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelee Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wandering Pheasant Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Pelee Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My Husband and I stayed here for two nights for our Anniversary and it was fantastic!!!! We completely enjoyed our visit, everything was perfect. Sandra and Rita are Naturals at the B and B Business. They treatd us as if we were guests in thier own home and made us feel very comfortable..There is a barbacue on the grounds which we used to cook our steaks and had dinner on our own screened patio. Layed in the Hammock on our porch and then to the hot tub,how relaxing is that. If you go to Pelee Island I would definetly recommend this B and B we know I will be going back.and staying here!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtrips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

A cycling trip to Pelee is always fun. This time we decided to stay a night at the Wandering Pheasant. Lots of character, great hosts, close to a nice beach, quiet, charming and friendly. What more can a person ask for? This island is laid-back, hasn't changed much in 50 years. The quaint and country-like vibe of the Wandering Pheasant is a perfect fit!

Thanks ladies - we'll see you next year again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Having never been to Pelee island, we didn't know where to stay. We referenced the list of accommodations online and took a chance on the Wandering Pheasant which seemed to have an above average website. We chose well. Thanks to Sandra and Rita for all your hard work. We were welcomed by Rita when we showed up. We stayed in the main building and brought our car. Note, if you don't bring a car, this place is on the other side of the island from the ferry port. There is a lovely beach 20 second walk from the B&B. Breakfast was awesome. We had room no. 1 which is themed as the Noah's Ark room. It was small, but sufficient. The bed is a double size. It was warm, even with the a/c on in the building. The overhead light was not working. The shower is easily heard through the wall. I would go for room 8 if you have the choice as it is considerably bigger, felt cooler when we popped in, and had a generous closet. There is a hot tub and gazebo outside but we didn't get to use the hot tub as it was busy all the time.

Overall, we quite enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuktrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Wandering Pheasant for 3 nights in July this year while vacationing in the area. Upon entering the grounds for the first time we were impressed by the gardens and amenities provided for the guests such as a hot tub and a very comfortable gazebo in which to relax and share some time with other guests. In addition there was a furnished patio at the side of the house amid the garden patch with a barbecue that the guests could use. The house interior was really nice with a collection of antiques throughout. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. What made our stay extra special was the wonderful and attentive service by our hostesses Sandra and Rita. They made every effort to ensure we were happy and contented and went out of their way to help whenever they were asked, always with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. Oh by the way, the breakfasts that they served were also excellent. Ask for the creme brule french toast! Everything was prepared from scratch using local ingredients and Sandra and Rita made an excellent team ensuring everything was just right. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karini123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful this place was. It was spotless and the themed rooms are wonderful! We stayed in the "Ruby Room" which was quite comfortable. The suites are spacious and even have a hammock on the screened in porch. The beach was just a stone's throw away. The breakfast was so delicious! Home made with herbs from the garden and even home made red pepper jelly! We felt very much at home and very comfortable. Sandra and Rita made us feel very welcome! I'll recommend it to family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My husband and I have been camping on Pelee Island for the past 6 years, and love it so much that we decided to have our wedding there. After several weeks of searching, I found the website for the Wandering Pheasant Inn.
After our very first conversation, I felt like I knew Sandra (the owner) and was extremely excited to have found a place that was big enough to host our entire bridal party. We spoke several times over the months of planning, and each time I hung up the phone thinking "if this turns out half as well as it seems it will, our wedding will be amazing".
And it was.
Our bridal party absolutely loved the location and had a fantastic time with the hot tub, campfire, and screened in gazebo. Sandra and Rita made sure we had everything we needed and were extremely flexible with all of the wedding activities happening. We were able to have our hairdressers do our hair in the living room, after a delicious breakfast - it felt like we were staying with friends.
The Wandering Pheasant is the kind of place that fits the true spirit of Pelee Island - it's natural, lovely, and welcoming atmosphere makes you glad there are no TVs or Internet. A true getaway for people who love the outdoors and appreciate good food, comfortable surroundings, and gracious hosts.
Thank you Sandra & Rita for helping to make our wedding weekend even more special!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_and_Jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We have done a great deal of traveling and this was a wonderfully relaxing experience made even better by our stay at The Wandering Pheasant.
It is well located close to a beach and the historic winery which is a must see.
The place was absolutely spotless and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the separate suites for privacy and were very pleased. Very clean and well appointed.
You can tell that the new owners have put a great deal of effort into redoing this place.
The owner (I forgot her name) was extremely attentive to all our needs and receptive to all suggestions. The breakfasts. Just excellent!!!
You just don't check in and out of this place then forget it. This was memorable just like visiting family.
We highly recommend it and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wandering Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wandering Pheasant Inn

Address: 1060 East West Rd, Ontario N0R 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Pelee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Pelee Island
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My vintage Inn is on the most southeast shore of Pelee Island, it is set in a unique country setting just a pebbles throw to the beach. It's perfect for a romantic getaway or a cozy overnight stay with a loved one, while enjoying the serenity of Pelee Island. We offer an adult only atmosphere, asking that children be nineteen years and older. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wandering Pheasant Hotel Pelee Island
The Wandering Pheasant Inn Pelee Island, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing