We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wandering Dog Inn
Nearby Hotels
Edgewater Hotel(Put in Bay)(Great Value!)
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Commodore Resort(Put in Bay)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Lodging Resort(Put in Bay)(Great Value!)
$171
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Park Hotel(Put in Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Put-in-Bay Condos(Put in Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Motel(Marblehead)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
80
17
10
0
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
17
10
0
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreened in porchthe ownerbed was comfortableliving roomfabulous staytin goosepeace and quietenjoyed my stayhalf marathongreat weekendsandrapheasantbikewineryferryislandadventure
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 113 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Love this location and we will definitely go back. We stayed in a Suite and it was gorgeous. Loved our private porch and used it each day. Sandra is wonderful and her Inn beautiful. The silence was refreshing and enjoyed meeting other guests. We can't wait to return :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite (named Lighthouse Point) and loved everything about it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ke11yJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The first thing you notice about The Wandering Pheasant Inn on Pelee Island is that you get an immediate sense that you will never want to leave.

Upon arrival we were met by one of the young and engaging inn staff members, who checked us into our very pretty and comfortable room (named “The Ruby Room” due it’s theme of, well, rich ruby and red colours throughout). We explored the inn and were impressed by the comfort and character of the main entrance and parlor, and the wrap-around enclosed deck is the perfect place for enjoying one of owner Sandra Laranja’s tasty breakfasts.

We met Sandra shortly after checking in and we were immediately made to feel welcome in the most sincere way, certainly not the kind of greeting you would get in a chain hotel back on the mainland. Sandra is energetic and engaging and has copious tips on what to see on the island.

We explored the island from end to end and side to side (we found the winery in minutes flat!), and loved coming back to the inn to cool down in the gazebo or heat up in the covered hot tub. At night, we enjoyed sitting around the fire pit and checking out the stars. Life moves slowly on the island, reminding us of the importance of dialing life back from time to time.

On more than one occasion we felt like were in the setting of a "Clue" game when we spent time in the parlor, with its rich wood and antique appearance and overstuffed comfortable chairs and sofa, the perfect room to read, knit and play some Yahtzee. On the one cool day that we had, we passed most of the afternoon in front of the parlor fireplace enjoying the easy-going pace of life that typifies the island and the inn.

The Wandering Pheasant also offers individual cottages (linked but private) that are decorated in a range of themes (just like the other rooms in the main inn) and are ideal for families or couples wanting a little more privacy. And the young and dedicated staff keep the place so spic and span, that, as I joked with one of them, “you can eat pepperoni off of the floors!”.

I could go on, but I have to leave something for you, Dear Reader, to discover. Get to Pelee island and enjoy a memorable stay at The Wandering Pheasant Inn. You will be happy you did.

Room Tip: The rooms all have distinct themes, very fun! And, there is a BBQ available to cook your own food, which is a real plus since restaurant choices on the island are limited.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The wandering pheasant is the absolute best place to stay on Pelee. Sandra is a great hostess and you will be very pleased with your stay. Highly recommend purchasing a suite! There is also a hottub and a beach within walking distance! Take the ferry and go straight to the wandering pheasant!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Password123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Pelee Island is a slice of heaven pie! The minute you step on the ferry it feels like you are entering a different world. It is the land of thousands of fireflies, numerous species of birds (including wild pheasants) and fantastic wine and hospitality at the winery. We have returned to the Wandering Pheasant for four years and stayed in the suites. They are lovely self-contained rooms with hammocks, screened porches, a fridge and lovely décor. If you can't be happy in a room like this, you would not be happy anywhere. Sandra and her crew are fabulous and made us feel totally at home. We miss them already! We recommend you get the Pelee Island vibe by staying at the Wandering Pheasant and getting to know all the interesting people that make Pelee Island so special. Heather and Brad

Room Tip: There is a barbecue available, so bring some snacks if you wish.
Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Breather-162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have been too Pelee Island three years in a row and have stayed at the Wandering Pheasant Inn all three years. Sandra and staff are wonderful and take care of all your needs. The Inn is beautiful and well kept and everything is so clean. The wandering pheasant is very close to the winery and is within a 2 min walk to a lovely sandy beach. We have stayed in the Inn and the cottage like suites and would recommend either to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrentMikitish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews