We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK little conservation area with little to do. But good for a family.”

Pinehurst Lake Conservation Area
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Paris
Attraction details
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“OK little conservation area with little to do. But good for a family.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner and I decided to rent a spot for our first camping trip together, so after reading some reviews we got #206. It was relatively private in relation to the other campsites that had absolutely no privacy and you were basically back to back with another site.

There were some minor hikes you could take that were empty, so it was nice and serene in that respect. The lake had a small beach and you could fish for tiny rainbow fish. The sites weren't very quiet, since there were so many people you could hear every conversation, especially parents yelling for their children all day.

I would say that this is a good campsite for families with younger children. The fishing is easy and you can do it off a dock, the beach is small and it's accessible. The staff come around frequently to check over the sites and to ensure people are adhering to the no radio policy, which is nice.

However, if you're an active couple, there really isn't that much to do if you're not looking to drive off the site. But as a first time camping experience together it's a good introduction and #206 was a relatively good spot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank FidgeFodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Camping at Pinehurst”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights at site 325. The site was huge and private although there were other sites across the road that I would not pay to stay as you were one ontop of another. So while there pick out your site ahead of your planned trip. The park is nice, lots to do, hiking swimming, biking and fishing. They also have a movie every Saturday night in July and August which is a lot of fun for the kids and adults.But wear long pants as your ankles will get bit. Will go back again having scouted out some other good sites.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Does not care about paying guests”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Camped in mid July. On Fri July 19 stormy weather blew through, complete with tornado warnings/watches. At one time the Weather Network said those in the area should take immediate cover. As we headed to the washrooms (the only concrete buildings in the park) staff evacuated them and then locked the doors. When questioned staff said they were directed by the park superintendent to lock them. We were stuck in the park, in tents and cars to wait out the storms. Just down the road a tornado caused a lot of damage.

I will never recommend another GRCA park as they obviously don't care for the safety of their paid campers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank camfiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at a serviced site 110 for camper trailers. It was nice and private. The area reminds me of being up north. Lots of trees. I have no complaints at all. There is swimming, hiking, kayaking etc. Rangers ensure a quite night as they roam the camping area often. Take a day trip or stay overnight. You won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Pupplove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Camping, Great for kids”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nites at an unserviced campsite, which were clean and level (any non-level sites have levelled dirt pads for your tent) Staff was nice, and not over bearing - just enough that you knew they were there. There is a ton of things to do at the park - swimming , fishing, hiking to name a few. There is a playground for campers and the washroom building at the campsite was clean and the pay showers worked well with plenty of hot water (25-50 cents should do you). The beach snack bar was handy - although it is offen out of supplies. There is a store adjacent to the park to get anything you might need and they also have great ice cream! The campsite was mostly young families and older couples and the "radio free" policy and quite times kept everything peaceful. I would recommend this park to anyone - the lake is especially good for young anglers as things like sunfish are VERY easily caught.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank travel_daddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinehurst Lake Conservation Area also viewed

 

Been to Pinehurst Lake Conservation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing