We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're always glad to be back.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 4 Paris B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My sisters and I have been coming to River Ridge for years; we almost feel part of the family! Cathy and Paul are so welcoming and the second floor accommodates all 6 of us with ease. We love catching up on what everyone has been up to over long, leisurely breakfasts. Always a great time!

Christine

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chleo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryfriend, Owner at River Ridge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

The author of this review is one of a family of sisters that we have hosted here individually, with her spouse, with one or two sisters or their full group of 6. Their formerly annual visit during Thanksgiving weekend is sorely missed. Over a period of many years, we had the pleasure of hosting these family members. While they did stay with us for their ultimate comfort their choice initially was because of our accessibility to Telfer Place Retirement Residence where their mother resided. We host many family members going to visit loved ones and have been recommended by Telfer Place to people when their guest suite is already booked. The eventual passing of the beloved mother of this lady meant that they no longer have occasion to visit Paris or stay with us, but the gift of their friendship is an outcome of hosting this business, that will forever have great value to me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for River Ridge Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 22 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

During the summer this year (2011), I was very fortunate in being able to stay at this wonderful B&B.

My chosen room was the Master's Den and it delivered all that was promised and more. Imagine laying in bed, with tall windows on three sides of this large room, on a night with a full moon making it's arc across a cloudless sky. Magical...

Breakfast was very tasy; conversation with Cathy and Paul, interesting and thought provoking. Their pride in their B&B is obvious and attention to detail, without being annoying, makes you very comfortable and feeling 'at home'.

This would also be a very good venue for a wedding, or celebration where guests can stay on site and enjoy all the property and area has to offer.

This was my first of what I hope to be many visits.

Toni

Room Tip: Being able to access the River from the property is a wonderful feature, and next time I intend to a...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryfriend, Owner at River Ridge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Once again we are humbled by this guest's complimentary feedback and through her descriptor, and her head's up message sent directly to us, know which visitor she is ~:) Thank you..T.
We do strive to appoint the rooms, with all the touches that feedback suggests we should and encourage our guests to share their thoughts, in an in room, Traveller's Log.
In fact, recently, 2 people within the same short time window, have told us they would like a reading light in this 'The Master's Den' so our next task is to endeavour to solve that deficiency.
It is a bit tricky to do this, given that this room has a murphy bed; the logistic challenges of which is why we did not initially provide one. But if necessary we will provide booklight clips ~:)
The recommendation that this would be a nice place for a wedding is a popular one.
Unfortunately, we realize that our venue would require the cooperation of Mother Nature to have the weather be a cooperative partner in that equation, for it to be viable...which of course is something beyond our control, so we resist promoting ourselves as a wedding venue.
Realistically, we would be more interested in hosting weddings with a short timeline than a long one, as we ourselves have grown children who may or may not have life events in the years to come so that we do not want to commit to such an important hosting, i.e.someone else's wedding, for years or months in advance as we want to have the option to prioritize our own family's timeline for their adult lives and hope that makes sense to those of you out there, with turning wheels as you make important choices.
We do enjoy hosting mini family reunions though and encourage people to consider looking into utilizing nearby Pinehurst Conservation area for a site, and our place as the accommodation provider! This area is managed by the Grand River Conservation authority and online info is available about Pinehurst on their site. Wishing you all well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Even though it's been more tan a month since we (mom and two boys) stayed at River Ridge, I make it a point to leave a review because of the great experience we had there. We had an important appointment in Toronto the next day, and arrived from Ohio around 5 pm. I actually picked River Ridge precisely BECAUSE it is in the middle of the countryside, and I wanted to rest in the middle of nature and away from the urban noise, pollution and concrete. Since I had to drive for 7 hours to get there, with two young boys, I tried to find suitable accommodation closer to our route, but even at the more expensive big hotels the reviews indicated that it was noisy and stressful. So we didn't mind driving the extra 15 miles to get to River Ridge, and I was very happy we did. The boys played outside all afternoon, after the long drive, and were thrilled to watch the horses kept by Paul and Cathy. As the sun came down we actually felt cool outside - a wonderful sensation after the urban sauna we had had to put up with in the previous month. The A/C was on in our suite and room temperature, although not cold - impossible with the sun hitting the outside wall directly - was very pleasant. The rooms were very nicely furnished and the bathroom very modern and stocked with everything necessary. We slept soundly and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast, cooked and served by Cathy and Paul at the precise time we had asked for the night before. We felt relaxed and pampered and I only wish we didn't live so far and could go back there complete with dad, for a longer stay. Excellent job, Cathy and Paul! Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8maude8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryfriend, Owner at River Ridge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Given that this guest was travelling alone with 2 young boys, I can actually recall who she is, as well as her polite and well behaved young sons, not to mention the pleasant chats we had during her stay. Specifically I also remember how honoured we were to have a woman travelling by herself, feel that she could take the risk and stay with us out here in the country. We know we are credible and that ours is a safe resting place, of course, but she trusted that that would be the case and we are happy that she found that her expectations were met in terms of quietness and tranquility. The distance factor can be an issue but we are much closer to the 403 than the 401. Many summers ago though, I drove around the province accessing our place from a variety of highway locations...401 west, 401 east, 403 west, 403 east, highway 24, hwy 5 and more so that with my daughter recording as we went, we have generated a repertoire of direction documents that includes landmarks that would be identifiable on each route so that our guests could know for sure, when venturing off the highway that they are indeed going the right way. I am not sure that this guest requested such a document, but we do invite people to do just that, in our confirmation email. ~:)
For this family (or part thereof), we were a reasonable resting place for their trip itinerary, a haven outside of Toronto and a break from the regular hotel chain experience. For those reading this that seek that kind of a break, we invite you to visit the 'Resources' section of our website where we have provided a link to an article I wrote for the traveller considering a B & B as an alternative to hotels, for the first time. It is entitled 'Best Kept Secret'. There are other articles posted there that have been written on a variety of similar topics, by others, including tips for traveling with children and staying at a B & B. We hope those with a lower trust factor than this courageous mother (thankfully bravery was not called for when she got here ~:) will consider using some tips found there as tools in sculpting an enjoyable getaway experience for themselves.
Besides being somewhat geographically convenient for this reviewer's travel itinerary, as it turns out, we are in fact strategically placed between many of southern Ontario's 'hot spots', making us convenient geographically for many itineraries. Indeed, we consider ourselves to be somewhat at the 'hub' (coincidentally my maiden name is Hubbs, lol) of what tourists seek to access during visits to our part of the province. To the northwest of us by about 45 minutes is St. Jacob's, southeast by about 65 minutes is Niagara Falls, 25 minutes northeast of us is the African Lion Safari and about 25 minutes southeast is the Alexander Graham Bell homestead museum and so much more. Downtown Toronto, is just over an hour from our door! You can learn more about our proximity to tourist draw factors, by visiting our website and checking out the Resources section again, this time the 'Relative to' pages. We like to consider ourselves a home away from home for our guests and we invite you all to peruse the tourist options nearby and then, to 'Come to play with a plan to stay'!!!!!!!...with us that is ~:) We'll be so glad that you did and will conscientiously endeavour to ensure that you will be too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We’re pleased to have selected Paul and Cathy’s River Ridge Bed and Breakfast in which to rest after a day of sun and fun on the Grand River.

Paul and Cathy were the ideal hosts. Despite not having met us before, they warmly welcomed and treated us as though we had known one another for ages. As a former teacher, Cathy is a wealth of knowledge and is intimately familiar with the area, its people and its attractions. Armed with an array of menus and brochures from local restaurants and attractions, Cathy recommended that we dine at a relaxed dining establishment where our meal was prepared by an award-winning chef. Wonderful choice! During our after-dinner stroll through Paris’ downtown shops, we couldn’t help but observe the slower pace, quaint charm and friendliness found in closely-knit towns. Coming from a large city, it’s a welcomed change of pace.

At River Ridge B&B, one can relax in the hot tub, take in some movies via satellite, play a variety of board games or read in the comfortable bedroom, which, by the way, is thoughtfully appointed with the personal comforts for which B&B’s have come to be known -- and then some. One could even wander through River Ridge’s expansive property or walk along its neighboring scenic country roads. Having exhausted ourselves from a fun-filled day, we opted to call it an early night. Our only regret is that we couldn’t have stayed longer, as we hadn’t arranged for our cat sitter to visit during our absence. We’ll know better for next time!

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Paris and our stay at River Ridge B&B. We’ll fondly remember this brief break as one of our more memorable anniversary events and we look forward to returning to celebrate future events. To paraphrase a quotation, it wasn’t so much the number of breaths we took while we were here but rather, the number of breathtaking moments that we had. If you’re looking for value and a warm atmosphere in which to rest, relax, bed down for the night and breakfast in the morning, then we highly recommend that you choose River Ridge Bed and Breakfast. Paul and Cathy take pains to ensure that your needs are met and that you’re comfortable. While you’ll arrive as their guest, you’re sure to depart as their friend.

>^..^< >^..^<

Room Tip: Avoid disappointment - book well in advance and communicate any special needs. Hosts will do their...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Married_With_Kitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryfriend, Owner at River Ridge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

While the 'format' of Trip Advisor is likely a purposeful attempt to permit anonymity for those submitting a review, we do wish to thank these 'parents of Siamese twins' for submitting their feedback for your consideration as potential guests. We know they are busy people, so appreciate the time that preparing such an extensive review takes.
Even though they're busy, this couple is very respectful of their relationship and the value of finding the right person in your life. I was humbled by their commitment to honour each other and their wedding anniversary which they choose to celebrate in a unique, creative and memorable way each year. This year their plan including kayaking on the Grand River and a stay with us in the county. As with all guests, we learned something from this couple. In their case, it is something that we believe will help make us better hosts.
What we learned is that while we do ask those guests that submit their request through our online booking system, if they wish to share their reason for coming, we do not do that in all 'e-chats' with people, for often we learn that in the introductory exchange of information. Sometimes though our early conversations with people do not go in that direction, whether they be online or on the phone. Yet, had we done so on this occasion, we would have been able to offer them the chance to choose an upgrade to our Romantic package as part of their celebration process. This upgrade, for those of you that may be interested, includes the addition of special decor to your preferred suite, late breakfast and late check out, use of the tandem bike and a special romance themed breakfast menu...all for only $25.00 more. Of course, I am not sure that they would have been interested in adding this dimension to their stay, but it would have been nice had I thought to make the offer....my apologies.
Indeed many people have become engaged here on our property and we are pleased to play a small role in such a large life event.
So, if you are dating someone who thinks that going on a honeymoon to Paris France is the fulfillment of a lifetime dream....when the time is right...be sure to plan to make your proposal here in Paris, Ontario....just to set the tone and maintain the theme. Should you choose us as your hosts for this, just ask us about special touches we could add in order to sculpt the perfect memory of your engagement!
Of course, we are happy to host those getting engaged who are not planning to honeymoon in Paris either lol and indeed people over the years have selected us as their honeymoon home due to the peace and quiet that can find here with us....Romance is alive at River Ridge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at River Ridge B&B in Paris with our 2 teenage children as we had booked a night rafting tour with Grand River Rafting and this B&B was recommended by them. Our host Cathy was lovely and went out of her way to make us feel at home. It is a spacious country property and a relaxing getaway from the city - including happy resident dogs, a friendly cat, and two beautiful horses. We just wanted to relax and it was the perfect setting. I sipped tea with my book on the patio The kids wandered the yard, playing with the animals and goofing on a tire swing. We enjoyed a walk down a path from the property to the river and rubber boots were even provided for this. The pool was under repair at the time, but an outdoor hot tub was a nice substitute. Cathy's morning breakfast was bountiful, including homemade raspberry pancakes with fresh preserves, bacon, yogurt, fresh fruit and toast. This venue provided just the right balance of privacy and attentive service when something was needed to make our stay comfortable. The rafting tour was also an awesome experience! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our room had a king bed and a separate sitting area with a sofa bed for the kids. Full bath.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryfriend, Owner at River Ridge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Thank you to this gracious lady for submitting her review. Again from her description, I can acknowledge that I know which family was hers although I recognize the privilege of anonymity generated by Trip Advisor and their on-screen name protocol. At the risk of sounding like a 'suck up', they were a lovely family who truly seemed to treasure the chance to spend time together away from the busy-ness of their day to day lives. Sometimes teens 'bedgrudge' family time and that was far from the case with this lovely group. Then again the night time rafting excursion they did while here was very 'cool'..literally and figuratively so maybe that helped, but I respected the integrity of their family unit a great deal.
It is probably worth pointing out to the 'newbies' to the B & B 'industry' that not all B & B's are set up to play host to those travelling with children, well. For those of you considering doing so, we invite you to send us an email and ask us to send you the link to an online article we have found on travelling to B & B's with children for your use as a personal resource. It was not written by us, but by a wise third party 'expert'.
As a former elementary school teacher, I enjoy meeting children in a setting a little different than that of a classroom. The teenagers in this family were delightful and were dignified in handling the disappointment of the pool (which we advised them in advance) well. It is our only hope that the replacement company we have hired (versus the one hired to have the pool opened in early June) will follow their proposed schedule on time and have our pool open and running smoothly promptly.
That will permit those with either a real book, or an one of the 'on screen readers' to sit by the pool and soak up the sound of the birds, combined with their happy children frolicking in the water. Even without the pool, the wifi connection allows reading away from the house, which somehow seems a contrast to the rural setting that permits it...but then again, maybe that is just me, showing my age...as a grandmother now myself.
Since we enjoy seeing families spend time together, because we appreciate it when we get to do so, we invite those who might enjoy a mini family reunion getaway, to consider planning it here with us, and the many attractions nearby that would help make that plan very memorable.
Alternatively, for those planning mini, non-driving holidays this year with their families, we remind you that we are a nice 25 minute cross country drive to the 'African Lion Safari' so that your adventure out of the city can start with the excitement of the roar of a lion, and end with the peace and quiet of the songs of the birds...plan to make River Ridge part of your summer fun with those you love to spend time with!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay. This place is sensational if you are looking for peace and quiet, simply a little piece of Paradise.
Whe we arrived we were greeted by Cathy with her grandson in her arms. Right away we felt like we were visiting family. She showed us to our room and explained all we needed to know. The room was very clean, beautifully decorated and furnished with all we needed for a comfortable stay.
Cathy recommended Two Rivers restaurant for dinner, the weather was perfect and this place has a nice patio with a great view, well the food was great too!!
In the morning our breakfast was served with a Canada Day theme, everything was delicius and the presentation was great. We invited Cathy and her husband to sit with us and we share some of our stories, they are the kind of people you would like to have as friends.
We are definately going back before the summer is over only this time we are staying longer.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Pinery, GREAT ROOM
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArenaSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryfriend, Owner at River Ridge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

We wish to thank our previous guest for taking time out of her long weekend to submit a review.
We are humbled by all who choose us as their accommodation provider, but accept it as very high compliment that they would consider us as friends. Indeed, that is how it has always felt to us...waiting for our guests to arrive, is waiting to see what our 'new friends' look like!
Our grandson visits one day a week, which is a gift we do not take lightly. For those of you who might consider us as your hosts, it does mean that we do have many toys around to help entertain your little one. For those of you without children, please note that we accept children as our guests with consideration. By this I mean that should you plan to visit us for your honeymoon, or romantic getaway and share this when you are booking, then if we get an inquiry from someone else with children in their party, we would touch base with you and see if you would prefer not to share our place with little ones during your stay. Similarly, if you book first for a given date, and have children in your 'party', then we happily accept your booking and let future inquirers know that we would have children in house when you might plan to stay.
We look forward to seeing this couple again, as they have already booked to come back later this summer. It is humbling when people choose us the first time, for the world offers many choices, but when we are chosen a second time by the same people, we consider it a gift!
(and respect it so much that we offer a 'reward'...~:)
...just ask us about this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Myself and girlfriend stayed here for one night, coming to the end of a busy 2 weeks tour around New York, Ohio and Ontario.
I planned to stay here for one night after driving up from Ohio and spend the next day on the Grand River canoeing. This was a big mistake on my part! I wish i had planned to stay here for longer and will definately return.
Paris istelf is a great little town which we choose to visit to try to get a feel for the real Canada, not just the touristy cities. Ridge River B&B is a short drive out of town on the banks of the Grand River. Please see my pics to see how lovely and quiet the setting is. It was so nice after the long drive to relax in the pool and unwind after a busy few days. Cathy was a great host and their resident cat was an instant hit with the Mrs.
Breakfast was to die for and really set us up for the day on the River. Cathy was even able to arrange lunch for us to take with us on our day out.
Overall brilliant! Just a shame we were there for only one night!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryfriend, Owner at River Ridge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

We apologize for the delay in responding to this review, but wanted to send our thanks for it nonetheless. We remember these kind, gracious people and their nature loving spirit and like them, wish they had stayed an additional day!
Many people visiting Canada from the UK and Europe, find the activities available on the Grand River and the visit to the town of Paris, (the prettiest town in Canada) a nice stop off. I This combination of river and small town life, provides a retreat style window on rural Ontario that fits in nicely geographically for those planning to visit Niagara Falls and Toronto while in our province.
We have been told that our little 'pocket', is a nice balance between the busy, albeit incredible commercialism of Niagara Falls, and the urban tourist scene offered by downtown Toronto. Niagara-on-the-Lake offers this too, of course, but we have yet to meet any who venture to Paris who regret the fraction of their holiday allocated to our little town. Those who want a truly country experience as a balance to their trip, choose us as their hosts and we appreciate that choice very much! We try to honour what people are looking for in a rural experience by having our cat, dogs and horses, offer friendly service too whenever possible ~:). Sadly though we too wish that people stayed longer than a single night, so that we could have a chance to get to know a little more about them, and their corner of the world..for that exhange is the true renumeration offered to us as their hosts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Brantford, Ontario
7.4 mi away
Best Western Brantford Hotel & Conference Centre
6.8 mi away
Days Inn Brantford
Days Inn Brantford
#4 of 6 in Brantford
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Brantford
86 reviews
13.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
3.1 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paris
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 232 West River Rd | R. R. # 2, Paris, Ontario N3L 3E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range: $41 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic countryside farmhouse, decorated with antiques, that offers the tranquility of nature steeped in rural charm, all hinting at days gone by. Relax outdoors by our pool and hot tub, cycle, stroll, or even fish on site from our riverfront! Inside, en-suite bathrooms, WiFi connection, fireplaces, fridges, TV with DVD/VHS and unit A/C are among the amenities we surprise you with. Lots of parking for cars, bikes, motorcycles or plan to arrive by canoe! New in August 2013, minimum weekend stay of 2 nights..sorry to disappoint. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Ridge Bed And Breakfast Paris, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing