We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayak down the Grand”

Grand Experiences Canoe & Kayak Outfitter - Day Tours
Paris, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Kayak down the Grand”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wife and I did a self-guided kayak trip down the grand - Cambridge to Paris. Not exactly white water rapids it was more of a gentle float down the river but very relaxing and enjoyable none the less. Great for families with young kids. Grand Experiences staff were super friendly at the storefront location and while getting driven up river. Maybe do Glen Morris to Paris if you're a novice or start early as it takes a few hrs to float down. Keep in mind there are no bathroom facilities along the Grand...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L84TOFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    16
    7
    6
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fall Colour Raft and Kayak Paddle on The Grand with GECKO”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

23 Outdoor Enthusiasts from Mocwa Meetup group enjoyed a fun and invigorating day paddling downstream on The Grand River. Our guides were attentive and skilled, we saw deer, blue herons and beautiful fall colours. The waters were high and fast, as novice paddlers we safely navigated the challenge through the rapids. We are looking forward to going again in the spring.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Waterfall Tour”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I , along with two very nice women from Ottawa , did a two day waterfall tour in the Hamilton area on the weekend of Oct. 19, 2013 . We stayed two nights at the Carmen Best Western in Hamilton , which is the nicest hotel in the area and is spotless with a great restaurant . Our meals were included and were in ( fine dining ) local restaurants . Our guide Jamie , with help from Dan , did their best to make sure our time spent was enjoyable and safe . We spent hours hiking at a leisurely pace through scenic forests , mostly on the Bruce Trail , to many waterfalls . All this time our guides explained the flora and fauna of the area as well as how landforms were created millions of years ago .We were allowed to choose our start times , snacks on the trail were provided , there were no added fees , and we all had a wonderful time . Highly recommended .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimC199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Big Creek was amazing fun!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My group of outdoor friends and I had a blast canoeing/kayaking on Big Creek! This truly is a wonderful paddle, as there were a lot of obstructions along the way, e.g. logs floating, overhanging trees or branches, "gauntlets", tree roots jutting out of the water. I truly enjoyed this challenge, even ducking our heads so as not to hit overhangs.

Not only that, this is flat water and is located along a densely covered area and the trees provided so much colour. Purely serene and magical and I wished it just went on and on and on.

I definitely will go back for sure.

Using Grand Experiences again for this tour was a good choice. They were very helpful and charged a reasonable rate compared to the other company I initially considered. The bus trip from Paris to Rowan Mills is long - around one hour, so factor that into planning for the day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenR_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“pleasant floating sensation”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rafting down the river is not like driving on a highway, or walking on a trail. It wobbles up and down, and you get wet if you fall out. (It's hard to get hurt since the river is generally broad & shallow.) An uber-friendly guide/lifeguard helps drive and points out interesting things like boulders in the water or golden eagles fishing just ahead. Safe & interesting enough for little ones too.

Advice: bring hats, gloves (for vigorous paddling), topics to entertain your captive audience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Experiences Canoe & Kayak Outfitter - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Grand Experiences Canoe & Kayak Outfitter - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing