We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mello at Mellos”
Review of Mellos Restaurant - CLOSED

Mellos Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mello at Mellos”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Old school diner in the heart of the Ottawa tourist district. Nothing fancy but, the food is pure diner classic. Hot, fresh, fast and yummy! The staff are real characters and part of the attraction. Good food at great prices. Love the breakfasts!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    9
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, QC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Style Charm”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Mellos was opened in 1942 and by the looks of it not much has changed. Looks can be deceiving. The present owners are slowly retrofitting the place and it's a gem under reconstruction. Plan and simple. No fancy tables or cutlery. Having had the pleasure of doing breakfast multiple times here it never ceases to amaze me how it all comes together. The staff are incredible. A waitress who can remember everything you order and also insult you to no end. A cook who gets it right all the time. Bottomless cup of coffee. My kind of place. True the food is a basic breakfast menu but don't be afraid to ask for something different. Early morning regulars are a show onto themselves. They are mostly the stall merchants from the Market who are competing against each other for you to buy their products. The atmosphere and banter is priceless.
I haven't had the pleasure of doing the evening menu but I'm hearing it's a lineup to get into the place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bear58Gatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Diner Breakfast”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Mellos was recommended as good breakfast place in the Byward Market. It turns out to be a typical old school diner with booths and a counter with stools. Very friendly wait staff took our 'breakfast special' orders which came swiftly along with the bottomless coffee. Nothing overly special about the meal- sausage and poached eggs with home fries and rye toast- but competently done and very cheap. Without trying other menu items I'm fairly ambivalent about this place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Saxguy302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great new dinner spot. Veg friendly!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mello's dinner/late night menu has been refreshingly refreshed with a varied menu and a decent, but unpretentious wine & beer selection. Staff is friendly, helpful and easy going and the open concept diner kitchen makes it easy to actually personally communicate with kitchen staff.

Everyone working seemed aware of what vegetarians would look for and they were more than able to adapt a variety of their menu items to suit vegetarians and vegans (i.e. transforming Buffalo chicken to Buffalo tempeh!).

Great value too. For under $50, we got 1 starter, two mains, a glass of wine each and we walked out with leftovers! Not a bad date

My one criticism would be that the gravy they used on their fries was a tad too salty. The fact that they opted for vegetarian gravy over meat gravy is a seriously nice touch though. More restaurants in Ottawa would be better off being as flexible as the new staff at Mello's!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lecdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice fresh breakfast made to order. Fun mix of locals and tourists, and the price was very reasonable compared to the other places we ate over the course of our visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank murphy3763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellos Restaurant also viewed

Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing