We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food. Great atmosphere and service. Make it a special occasion. It's pricey.”
Review of Fairouz

Fairouz
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 7/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #22 of 3,256 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
Description: Fairouz is a Middle East inspired upscale casual restaurant that showcases the ingredients, flavours, and recipes of authentic Middle Eastern cuisine in a service-focused environment with modern touches. The pita bread is also made fresh to order. We pride ourself on our relationship with local farms and purveyors.
Restaurant details
Description: Fairouz is a Middle East inspired upscale casual restaurant that showcases the ingredients, flavours, and recipes of authentic Middle Eastern cuisine in a service-focused environment with modern touches. The pita bread is also made fresh to order. We pride ourself on our relationship with local farms and purveyors.
Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

Nothing to complain about with this place.
The service was STELLAR as well as the food. Anything haloumi was fantastic.
The lamb probably the best I've had.
Nice salmon apetizier as well.
Put this one on your list. Make it a special occasion. Oh and make a rezo.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank cjcoutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 227 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2018

We had dinner on a Sunday - evidently on Sun/Monday they have a different menu, mostly tapas size plates (mezze).

The food we had was very good, lots of flavour. The cashew/pomegranate dip and the cauliflower were excellent. The bread they serve with the dip is freshly made. The cornish hen was also quite good. DH said the cured salmon was just OK.

We walked there from the Rideau Centre area - it was a nice walk there & back. On Sunday reservations are required, it was very busy.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

So happy a friend of mine introduced me to this gem. Everything was so fresh. It was nice to share a little of everything. I will be going back here again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sapplejojn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

We went to Fairouz last month for a celebration and the food was wonderful. They had their mezze menu that was great to try various small plates. Would love to return for the regular menu . The only thing not giving this place 5 stars is the price. We found ( as did many of our friends) that the prices for the mains are quite expensive compared to the old Fairouz.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 4boyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

Fairouz opened some years ago aiming to be the place for fine Lebanese cuisine . This is ambitious in Ottawa where Lebanese restaurants tend to mean cheap and cheerful . Fairouz has stayed the course and is one of the special places to find in Ottawa . It has changed from classic dishes to a Lebanese version of nouvelle cuisine . The emphasis is on sharing , with dips featuring such things as pomegranates, appetizers with hummus served as a baked square ,contemporary variants of Lebanese favourites like halloumi , and main courses of lamb , chicken , fish . vegetarians can choose a vegetable dish , but otherwise vegetables do not seem to play a big role .Lebanese wine is good and there is an extensive international list . Starters are small, but main courses generous . The lamb we shared was exceptional . The chicken a bit dry and not something you need a restaurant to make for you . The apple dessert we had was also exceptionally good . All round we had a great evening out . So it seems did everybody else , it is very noisy when full. Because everything , even the rice ,is ala carte you could end up with too much food and too much of a bill . It is not cheap . It is cheerful.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 5958sookerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairouz also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Fairouz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing