We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good Denny's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denny's - CLOSED

Denny's
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A really good Denny's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently went there for lunch. Even though the place to was packed, we were served promptly and accurately. Friendly service, and the food was quite good. A great restaurant for families. Decent coffee, too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank unitedfarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    12
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfasts !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

As a chain restaurant, visitors generally know what to expect. That being said, it still is up to the chef and floor staff to carry out expectations. This Denny's location serves consistently "hot" breakfast items in "generous portions."

The only negative aspect is inconsistent heat in the restaurant - either almost freezing cold on the north side, to very hot on the south end. Sit in the middle of the restaurant where it is generally more comfortable heat wise.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Greasy Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had visitors and decided to all go to Denny's for lunch. The place was busy and we were seated relatively quickly. Our table had remnants of the previous guests meal on it and we had to ask to have it cleaned. The menu had dried ketchup stuck to it and even after cleaning, the table, menus and utensils all had a greasy feel to them. It was unappealing and not appetizing at all.
The waitress seemed stressed and over burdened and the food was just OK.
I realize we are talking Denny's and not a high end restaurant. I wouldn't recommend the South Keys Denny's. We will go to Perkins next time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
731 reviews
479 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Sunday morning treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I took my grandmother out for breakfast on Sunday. We tried to get into Chances R but the wait was too long. We just drove a little ways over to Denny's and were seated right away. The service was fast and efficient. The food was plentiful and hot. This is one of the few restaurants in Ottawa that has a large menu selection just for seniors. Great place to go for a little comfort food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing waitress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Liked everything :) Our waitress is, however, outstanding : truly professional, efficient, and smart.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing