We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, great atmosphere, elegant decor, beautiful views!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Du Centre National Des Arts
Ranked #1,584 of 2,738 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Cross street: Albert
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
458 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere, elegant decor, beautiful views!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

A varied and unusual menu that changes a few times a year. Food is always very good, portions are reasonable.

Love the table cloths, elegant tableware and the presentation of the food.

Always interesting and tasty desserts.

This place is wonderful after a show...

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CharlesSeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location prior NAC performances!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Service was excellent! I had the Thirty day aged AAA Ribeye and my husband had the Lamb 2 which were prepared to our liking . I enjoyed my selection which consisted of 2 small portions of tender beef but my husband was a bit disappointed with his portion of five little round pieces of lamb - he found his portion too small and the lamb lacked flavour. In his case he would have been happier with the Ribeye. The bread was delicious. In spite of my husband's disappointment, we enjoyed our outing and had time for a short stroll along the canal prior to attending the NAC performance that evening.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OttawaVictoria_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The price is high but the quality of the food worth it. sometimes certain element of a dish are not excellent but overall it is an experience

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank morinsori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Variable Service for Solo Diners”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have eaten at Le Cafe many times over the years, usually as a solo diner, prior to a performance. Almost always with a reservation, by the way.
I would describe both the quality of the food and the quality of the service, as "variable". Another reviewer, also a solo female diner, wrote that her food wasn't to her standard and the service she received there, as a solo diner, was poor. I have had that experience at Le Cafe butI have also had some pretty good, although not excellent, meals there. The prices are high, but rightly or wrongly, you paying something for the ambience as well as for convenience. It is the convenience that brings me back, not the food or the service.
I have also been invited to sit at the bar, where meals are also served on performance evenings, with an early reservation during which I requested a window table in the dining room. On other occasions, I have been seated in the dining room, although never beside a window overlooking the canal, as a solo diner.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadianHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent view and excellent food”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Probably the best value for a white-linen-tablecloth restaurant in the National Capital Region. An interesting Canadian-products menu and attentive service; this is one of the places to which I take people when conversation is important, as the restaurant is very good about noise level.

Helpful?
1 Thank elmstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Du Centre National Des Arts also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Cafe Du Centre National Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing