We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh food and good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wild Oat

The Wild Oat
Ranked #129 of 2,726 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Glebe / Dow's Lake
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great fresh food and good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

When I lived in Ottawa, this was a regular stop for fresh-baked bread. I also made periodic visits for lunch or for a snack or for some cookies or treats. Enjoyed it more than ever the last time we visited, and very affordable compared to the surrounding restaurants and even fast food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adtrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very fast service but didn't enjoy my muffin. Found it bland and dry - exactly what the stereotype says about "healthy" muffins. Will probably try again, as this was my first visit. Perhaps the muffins aren't the things to have...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GwenAndGrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good quality food, nice vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good quality ingredients and a friendly atmosphere make this a great place to walk or bike to, and we do so many times when we're back in Ottawa during the summer. Breakfast options include crepes with several types of filling, and a wide range of muffins, croissants (goat cheese and rosemary is our fave). Today I tried the veggie crepe, which was stuffed with beetroot, goat cheese and spinach. Really good.There is a small buffet of hot dishes. A couple of days ago, I tried the roasted veg polenta and ginger glazed carrots. All tasty. There's always a range of juices and I tried a pretty intimidating blend of apple, cucumber, chlorella and kale. The benefits probably outweigh the taste! Of course, you pay a little more for the quality but it's worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToesGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Went with my family for a breakfast, we were in the mood for some oatmeal or porridge. Stopped in to check if they had some oatmeal for breakfast (The Wild Oat) the person who seemed to be making the food said it was not specifically on the menu but the could make some oatmeal as they did have oats.
So we parked and walked in to be told at the desk that breakfast was over and they don't have and cant serve any thing with oats ! Funny name for a place that doesn not serve oatmeal or porridge for breakfast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank serum121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast Cookies to Die For...and More!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Whenever I am in the Glebe, and it is mid-morning; or mid-afternoon; or mid-anytime, I stop in to the Wild Oat Bakery to peruse what they have in the cookie department - always awesome choices.

They also have a wonderful lunch time (hot and cold) selection of items.
Healthy, Vegan, Vegetarian - catering to a range of needs and food-styles.
Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Oat also viewed

 

Been to The Wild Oat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing