We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yippie Food”
Review of The Wild Oat

The Wild Oat
Ranked #149 of 2,736 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Glebe / Dow's Lake
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yippie Food”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I always find something interesting too eat at WO. I always feel good because I know I will get top nutritious food. The venue ordering process is dated but it reminds me of the cafés of the '70.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Veggie Fare for Hipsters”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Wild oat have an excellent offering of brunch and lunch veggie foods. All is delicious, fresh and unique. Bread is from the attached bakery, so it is always fresh and tasty. This is a unique place in Ottawa.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Slayer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We usually pick this restaurant on Sunday morning for breakfast. It has on one side the bake shop and the other the cafe.
I had the omelette with cheese that had mushrooms spinach zucchini and a double americo coffee. My wife had the simple crepe with maple syrup and the same coffee, both came with whole grain toast.
It was all very tasty . We like the cafe because you pick a spot to sit then go to the counter to order and pay and they take your name and call you when it's ready and after you finished you bring your dishes the bin. Not everyone would like this but we like it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suntripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty Sandwiches”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I've been buying bread at the Wild Oat for over a year now, but as a non-vegetarian, I'm not normally a fan of sandwiches without meat, so I only tried the Wild Oat's sandwiches this week. I found that the Wild Oat does it right. They put together some very tasty and filling sandwiches. The scones are delicious and are a great way to finish off a lunch.

Tip: The cafe is self-service, but the meals are made quickly. Good choice for a quick lunch.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stopped here for breakfast on our way to Winterlude and was pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcleod15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Oat also viewed

 

Been to The Wild Oat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing