We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geat place to eat, or just relax for a drink”

summerhays bar and grill
Ranked #952 of 2,766 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Geat place to eat, or just relax for a drink”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have been a patron since they opened. I have watched the place grow, and watched the owner make changes to things in response to customer wishes. The menu was a little "week" for such a large and fairly classy place. For years, their exceptionally good choice were there various 'stir fries'.

The introduction of the new prime rib roast dinner has, almost single handedly, brought up the caliber of the restaurant. Couple that with their traditional habit of charging a very reasonable price, I see a positive future for the, for sure.

PS, if you are a real beef lover like me, ask the server for a $5.00 extra thickness on your cut. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    36
    13
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cheap breakfast”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Good and cheap breakfast. The service is kind of lousy but other than that it's a good. The atmosphere at night is also pretty good. Music,noise and friends! What more could you ask for

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood bar”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Staff is efficient, food is good. The place could use a makeover but otherwise a good experience.

Some of the specials you can get is 39 cent chicken wings. Beer special Sunday, Monday, Thursday and Friday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iwillnotdoit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“prime rib special very good”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very comfortable seating in this large restaurant. Our server was very good and had water and drinks on the table in only a few minutes. She offered candid advice on the specials and the menu items. I took her advice on the prime rib special and was not disappointed. For $15 it was a very good dinner - well plated with vegetables and a nicely done baked potato. Wife had the house wine and said it was very good.
Overall a very affordable dinner in a clean restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Real_Duke_of_Hockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Consistant quality”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have eaten at this bar and grill several times over the past few years and have enjoyed the food and service. A wide variety of items on the menu guarantees that you will find something decent to eat. I have tried steak, pasta, fish, and chicken on various visits and enjoyed them all. The restaurant and bar area have many big screen HD televisions (showing mostly sports) which can be good or bad depending on the atmosphere you prefer. I loved watching the ball game while having my steak dinner. I found the young ladies working here to be friendly and professional and deserving of their tips.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank budosempai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed summerhays bar and grill also viewed

 

Been to summerhays bar and grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing