We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian food with good service”
Review of Tosca Ristorante

Tosca Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Tosca Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #144 of 2,749 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Cross street: Gloucester
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
227 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good Italian food with good service”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We ate here on the night before the 40th anniversary of the Ottawa Marathon, when the place was packed with runners eating double-helpings of pasta. Despite the crowds, our server was cheerful, efficient and very nice. We had a seafood pasta dish and seafood risotto dish and enjoyed both much. The house red wine was affordable and satisfying. We would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneGrecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    78
    36
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good service is the high point”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This restaurant had a nice ambiance, it is large wih good decor. It is located downtown Ottawa right across from the Bank of Canada building where there is a conveniently located taxi stand. I started with the soup of the day which was brocolli. Normally the tendency in restaurants is to serve a small quantity of soup in a small bowl, but it was not the case here: there was plenty of soup of rich brocolli, although a little salty for my taste. As a main dish I chose the veal marsala with mushrooms, potato and vegetables: it was fine but not excellent. The service, however, was very good, friendly and attentive and for that reason alone it would be sufficient to recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Nicely decorated, very clean, great food and great service! We will go back! Not crazy expensive ! We went early so it was quiet ,place was filling with nice looking people!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surprise in the capitol”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I never expect much from Ottawa except disappointment and high tax bills.

Stopped in at Tosca on a cold winter evening. Had their excellent salumi platter for an app and then their excellent zuppa di pesce. Could not finish the excellent seafood and supremely tasty broth.

Service was very good. Spumone was memorable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BM_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The food is excellent and the service is up beat a friendly.
This is my home away from home. They treat me like family.
I frequently dine alone but have entertained up to 30 guests.
Always good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tosca Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Tosca Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing