We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice room, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2011

I might have brought it on myself by asking for a room on the top floor. Rooms are very nice - clean, quiet, nicely appointed, free wired and wireless internet; staff is friendly and helpful. However, heat is furnished by a common boiler, not by individual room heaters, and either the boiler is totally inadequate for Canadian winters or the heat is kept throttled back - outside control of maintenance personnel (maintenance said they tried to turn up the boiler). Room was 20 degrees (68 F) when I checked in and could not be heated above 22 (72 F) even with the thermostat set on 30 (86 F) all night. Tried another room and the situation was the same. This also means that when the common boiler is turned off in the spring there will be no heat for any rooms. As much as I like Hilton properties, sad to say I will not return to this one.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hdirad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in October for a work conference. I was impressed the whole time I was there, but when I woke up, I had a bump on my back. I thought nothing of it, but when I got home, I had 2 big red bumps. After seeing the doctor, it was suggested that I had 2 spider bites. I did contact the hotel, but they offered no apology or help without a doctor's report...
All other colleagues were fine - I obviously had the bad room...

Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
7  Thank traveller74nss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Had to stay here due to a flight delay that landed me in Ottawa too late to get a connecting flight. Made the reservation the same day I needed a room - staff were helpful and I got a reasonable price. Shuttle from airport didn't run after midnight, but they had an early morning shuttle that ran efficiently. Very close to the airport - maybe 5 minutes drive. Very strange rooms. Mine was almost 30 feet long with very high ceilings. Don't know why someone would design a hotel like this. No food available after midnight, although front desk offered to order me take-out. If you need a hotel near the airport, this is the place to stay. But if you intend to spend time in Ottawa I would suggest going into the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank old-jogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My wife and I have stayed in many hotels in Ottawa and we always have a pleasant stay at this hotel. The rooms and hotel are spotless, and the staff is excellent. Gilles, Assistant Manager demonstrates a level of customer service beyond expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymondoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This was a great hotel...I requested connecting rooms which I got and they were huge!! Each room was clean and well looked after. The staff was nice and friendly,

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitKat003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We were in Ottawa visiting family and exploring the city. The location location of the hotel was superb, as it was close to the airport. The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful during our stay. The room was bright, clean and in very good condition.
The only thing was it was a bit pricey but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat46671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Located very close to the airport, the rooms are quiet, huge and spotless. Fridge, microwave and coffeemaker are standards. The beds and really nice with duvets,
The hotel is spottless, the pool and exercice are are perfect. Breakfeast was also really nice. Nothing negative to say about front desk staff, they were really nice. Great quality/price

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
1.6 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
6.7 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport

Address: 2400 Alert Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $110 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport hotel in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, you'll find everything you want. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario hotel is located five minutes west of the Ottawa MacDonald Cartier International Airport and 15 minutes to downtown Ottawa. The hotel is completely soundproof. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario Airport hotel is certain to please the busy executive or leisure traveler. The Hilton Garden Inn in Ottawa is designed with you in mind, and offers the following services: Garden Grille and Bar, Evening Room Service Available, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store, Pavilion Lounge, Complimentary shuttle service and self parking, Complimentary business center, Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access throughout entire hotel, including guest rooms, Indoor heated pool and whirlpool, Complimentary Exercise Room, 7,200 sq. ft. state-of-the-art banquet facilities, Complimentary morning paper, Valet and self-laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing