We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

stayed at the hilton garden in this weekend to spend the day at calypso waterpark and hotel was very clean and affordable. The breakfast was really great with lots of choice and delicious. A bit slow to get coffee but the group we came with was quite large and came down all at once.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citygal2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and trip to Calypso. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    329
    82
    28
    10
See reviews for
296
183
88
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed with my retiree parents, 3 of us in one room.

PRO: Room HUGE, well-appointed with comfy couch and ottoman, large desk with ergonomic chair. Keurig coffee maker. Although it is right next to the airport the room was completely sound-proofed. Everything was immaculate. Beds very comfortable with great pillows. Bathroom spotless and all the necessary amenities.

Great breakfast at very reasonable prices.

Nice, professional and courteous staff at front desk and in restaurant. Initially there was a misunderstanding about our rate, and because I was sure it was their error, I gave front desk a little bit of a hard time. They were professional and courteous, and as it turned out the error was actually mine. Kudos to the staff. Well handled.

CONS: I'm one of those people who relies on good internet access. Although internet access is included, it was ridiculously slow. The tests I ran in the room and the lobby never exceeded 1Mbs down and .5 up. This is unacceptable for most users these days, not much better than an old-style modem. In my opinion, this is a silly way to skimp, and for this reason alone, I personally would not return to this hotel. [I spoke to front desk about this and you can pay a fee for a faster connection, but they admitted there were some issues with their provider and claimed they were working on it.]

Another issue: Our room had one table between the two beds with one light for everyone. If you are sharing a bed and sleeping on the outside you have no light of your own, and no surface to put water, books, phone, etc. (See pic)

Minor quibble -- the showerhead is placed up too high, if you are at all height-challenged you have to balance unsafely up on edge of tub to adjust it. (Pic)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloes_dad_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. IN regards to the internet speed, we were in the middle of an upgrade and were experiencing some problems, but the upgrade is now complete. I have passed your feedback onto the appropriate parties, Have a great day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Spent 4 nights here over the last wkend in June and it was a great choice. Our room was exceptionally quiet despite lots of young adult guests for a music festival. Our 1 bedrm King suite was huge, so plenty of room to spread out during our stay. Staff was always helpful and courteous. Sebastien at the front desk was especially helpful and friendly. The water cooler in the lobby with lime and lemon slices was a real treat as it was a very hot weekend. Right next to the airport, but very little jet noise. We were surprised that there were no recycling facilities for guests. Only negative was the sofa bed mattress, but we figured out an alternative and our daughter slept well the last 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. In regards to recycling, we do have recycling bins in every room. Perhaps yours was not there for some reason. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

You're right next to the airport at this HGI. It's very easy to get to downtown Ottawa as the main airport parkway (cars only) lets out right in front of the property. Rooms are huge, clean and comfortable. It's a busy place, so much so that they're building a new wing on the building. Aside from the presence of a huge crane and associated trucks and workers, none of the hotel's amenities are affected. Nor did I hear much noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. If you're an aviation buff, ask for a room on a high floor facing the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5w30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are adding a second tower to the hotel to keep up with the extraordinary demand for our property. We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have stayed at this HGI several times over the past 6 years, and have found the quality, service, and commitment to customer service and satisfaction consistent throughout that time.

The staff is always welcoming, friendly and service oriented. The servers, and bar staff are included in this above average class as well.

The rooms are always immaculately maintained, as is the grounds and public lobby areas.

It is very convenient to the Ottawa Airport, and offers shuttle service to there and restaurants near by.

There is no vehicle noise from near by roads, but it is near the airport, so as you would expect you may hear aircraft at any time.

Overall an A +++ for staff, hotel, and comfort. I will stay here again, and have no problem recommending that you do also.

The hotel is under renovation, adding an expansion that will increase the capacity. While there it did not impact my stay (noise-lights etc.) at all.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view of the airport operations ask for a room on the back side that faces the run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitroxprt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all reviews but we also appreciate your loyalty since we opened almost 6 years ago. It is because of guests such as yourself that we are expanding to add an additional tower to the hotel. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The prompt and friendly pick up at the airport and check in was unexpected and appreciated. Room service was fast and polite. And the room met my expectations or possibly exceeded them. The hotel is affordable and in a great location. Same friendly attitude on shuttle in morning. I will try book to layovers through Ottawa rather than Toronto because of quality of the airport hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamloopsPrairieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience. What great news, you will try to fly through Ottawa in the future. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stay at this hotel regularly and I would like to call out Monica and Jean for the excellent customer service they deliver every time. Even some of my business colleagues, after only one night’s stay, understand why I stay at this location regularly. Thank you, and keep up the great work!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We will be pleased to pass along the review to our staff. It is always great when our great team members are recognized for their efforts. Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
1.6 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
232 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
6.7 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
Address: 2400 Alert Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport hotel in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, you'll find everything you want, right where you need it. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario hotel is located five minutes west of the Ottawa MacDonald Cartier International Airport and 15 minutes to downtown Ottawa. The hotel is completely soundproof. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario Airport hotel is certain to please the busy executive or leisure traveler. The Hilton Garden Inn in Ottawa is designed with you in mind, and offers the following services: Garden Grille and Bar, Evening Room Service Available, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store, Pavilion Lounge, Complimentary shuttle service and self parking (Park and Fly rates available!), Complimentary business center, Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access throughout entire hotel, including guest rooms, Indoor heated pool and whirlpool, Complimentary Exercise Room, 7,200 sq. ft. state-of-the-art banquet facilities, Complimentary morning paper, Valet and self-laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing