We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate property with outstanding staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“First rate property with outstanding staff”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a weekend here with my girlfriend and her teenage niece.

Check in was a breeze. Unfortunately, they were booked solid for a holiday weekend, so no upgrades were available. Nevertheless, our room was very spacious and comfortable. It was furnished with a king size bed with two bedside tables; a 'kitchen credenza' with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker; a queen sized fold-out sofa with a large, square leather ottoman; a dresser with a large television and a desk with a comfortable desk chair. There was ample closet space, and the bathroom was spacious and well-appointed. The entire room was clean and updated.

As a Hilton HHonors Diamond member, we had free breakfast each morning. The service and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The manager and the servers were all friendly and accommodating. The selection on the cold buffet was impressive and well-stocked.

The staff at the front desk were consistently friendly and helpful.

The indoor pool and spa area is clean and well maintained. The whirlpool spa was nice and warm, and the swimming pool was pleasantly cool. There are showeres for cleaning off before and after your dip. There are also plenty of towels so that you don't have to bring your bath towels down from your room.

A caveat: The bedside table lamps are controlled by a light switch. The outlets built into the lamps do not work when the switch is off. Don't use these to recharge electronic devices while you sleep! There are plenty of other outlets, though.

A small suggestion: It's a little tricky to get to the hotel from the Airport Parkway. As you're coming south from Ottawa on the Parkway, you can see the hotel off to your left, but you need to exit to the right in order to get to the hotel. A sign indicating where to exit the parkway for the hotel would be helpful. If you have a GPS device, this probably isn't a problem. Unfortunately, my GPS is on my phone, and I had data roaming turned off (I'm from the US) to save money.

The hotel is convenient to the airport and to Carleton University. It's about a 15 minute drive from downtown Ottawa. From Ottawa, just take Bronson Avenue (it's one of the exits from 417) south. It turns into the Airport Parkway after a few miles.

In the past, I've stayed at the Hampton Inn on Coventry Road. The Hampton Inn is closer to downtown Ottawa and slightly less expensive, but the Hilton Garden Inn is a much nicer property. If you're a Hilton HHonors member, these are the two choices you'll be considering (along with the Hilton across the river in Gatineau). I would say that the Hilton Garden Inn is worth the slightly longer drive. If you're visiting Carleton University, staying here is a no brainer.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your great Hilton Garden Inn experience with the online community. We appreciate our guests spreading the word about our wonderful hotel. You are absolutely correct regading Carleton University. We are a very popular choice for parents coming to visit their children at University. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    329
    82
    28
    10
See reviews for
296
183
88
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is fairly new and well-equipped. It’s near Ottawa airport, and there is a shuttle to the airport, but it is not close to anything else if one does not have a car. There is free outdoor parking. When we stayed, the front area was under construction and there was only a gravel driveway leading to the front entrance.

Check-in was not particularly quick or welcoming. We needed to use a safety deposit box, and that was efficiently and pleasantly handled. The lounge, restaurant and bar are large, mostly open, casual, attractive areas surrounding the front desk. Chairs and sofas in the lounge are too deep and soft to be comfortable. There are only two elevators, and one was out of service owing to the elevator technician’s strike, so there were occasional long waits.

Our room, on the second floor, had no view except cornerways into a parking lot. The room was large and well-equipped, with a firm, comfortable king bed with good linens and pillows. There was a a good work desk, with comfortable chair, good lighting and free WiFi (although it stopped the evening of our second night). There was only a couch hide-a-bed and a large ottoman, no other chairs. The couch itself was soft, saggy and so uncomfortable that we could only use it by putting our own firm cushion on it. Generous bedside tables topped by three-speed reading lamps, were on each side of the bed. Two chests of drawers completed the furnishings. One contained the coffee maker, microwave and a refrigerator. The other supported the TV - small for the size of the room, with indifferent reception, and unable to show The Weather Channel while we were there.

The bathroom was large and well equipped. The counter space ran the full distance of one wall. There was a good selection of toiletries. The lighting was particularly good. There was lots of hot water and the shower was good.

We had a late evening light meal (in the bar area, from the menu), a dinner and a breakfast at the hotel. The dining room is light, airy, casual and comfortable, but small. The tables were closely packed and small - some too small even for a breakfast for two. Service was friendly, efficient and prompt. On the whole, the dishes were imaginative, mostly successful, takes on old favourites. A seasonal menu added greatly to the dinner choices shown on the website. However, one fish dish was overcooked, dry, and accompanied by very dry lentils and stringy edible-pod peas. The cold buffet breakfast ($6.95)was a humble affair, with a minimal choice of fruits and yoghourt. The only good thing was quite good baking, especially a Danish. Interestingly, the do-it-yourself waffle maker costs $3 here, where it was included with breakfast at the last two hotels where we encountered it. The dining prices were comparable with restaurants.

Overall, this wasn’t a cheap hotel stay, and there were some unexpected shortcomings, but it offered reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher than the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rideau-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback on our facilities. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the cold breakfast options, I am sorry if you thought fruit and yogurt were the only thing included. Our continental option includes, muffins, danishes, croisssants, toast, english muffins, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt and assortment of juices as well as coffee and tea. We hope to have the opportunity to wow you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

experience was very good. The staff were wonderful. very helpful. rooms were great clean. beds were very comfortable. food was great and so was the service. I would recommend this hotel to any one. the Hotel is about the people their guests . they even had cookies ready available for their guests.. :) A++

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We love when people spread the good word of our hidden gem. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel, our customer service and our world class cuisine. We hope to see you on your next trip to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel. HVAC excellent and very quite. Less than 5 minute drive from Ottawa Airport and reasonably priced for that. Check in process was fast and efficient. Lots of amenities to take advantage of, however my team had just had a 16 hr day and were looking to sleep. Beds were very comfortable and the rooms well appointed. Would stay again without a doubt if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Excellent airport hotel. Clean, quiet, good service I like this hotel as it is near the airport but not noisy. It is in a park like setting, and country walks are just out the door. My grandaughter likes picking the wild daisies nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Josephine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a lovely greenbelt around the hotel. We are pleased you got to experience our wonderful service. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
644 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights here while visiting the area. We did not want to deal with the chaos and parking fees of downtown Ottawa. We had a huge room overlooking the runway but we were never bothered by airport noise. Staff, especially Matt at breakfast, were friendly and helpful and really made our stay great. The hotel was clean and well kept. There are many places to eat not too far away (if you have a car) and the hotel's recommendations were excellent. You won't go wrong if you go where the staff recommends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed the convenience of our property. We are also happy that you enjoyed our great service. I have already passed on your favourable comments to Matt and the team. We are glad that you noticed the great sound insulation of our hotel. You can enjoy watching the planes on the runway without the noise. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was in Ottawa last month for the Ottawa Half-Marathon and picked this hotel because it was close to the airport. In fact, it's very close to the airport - less than 5 minutes away by car or convenient and friendly hotel shuttle. The hotel was very clean and quiet. Overall, great value. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others - even my mother.

Room Tip: I was on an upper floor, away from the elevator and found it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a very popular choice for marathon runners. Be sure to book early next year as we tend to fill up fast for that time period. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
1.6 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
235 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
6.7 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
Address: 2400 Alert Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport hotel in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, you'll find everything you want, right where you need it. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario hotel is located five minutes west of the Ottawa MacDonald Cartier International Airport and 15 minutes to downtown Ottawa. The hotel is completely soundproof. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario Airport hotel is certain to please the busy executive or leisure traveler. The Hilton Garden Inn in Ottawa is designed with you in mind, and offers the following services: Garden Grille and Bar, Evening Room Service Available, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store, Pavilion Lounge, Complimentary shuttle service and self parking (Park and Fly rates available!), Complimentary business center, Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access throughout entire hotel, including guest rooms, Indoor heated pool and whirlpool, Complimentary Exercise Room, 7,200 sq. ft. state-of-the-art banquet facilities, Complimentary morning paper, Valet and self-laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing