We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s simply a wonderful restaurant!”
Review of Cucina da Vito

Cucina da Vito
Ranked #63 of 3,298 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Description: At Cucina Da Vito the difference begins in Italy and ends at your table. From scratch kitchen, home made pastas, sauces and service that is meant to exceed expectations.
Restaurant details
Description: At Cucina Da Vito the difference begins in Italy and ends at your table. From scratch kitchen, home made pastas, sauces and service that is meant to exceed expectations.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I regularly go to la Cucina and every time it is just as sinfully delicious as the last time. The spaghetti carbonara is awesome. The veal Marsala, the cannelloni, the fettuccine Alfredo, and on and on. The wait staff are very attentive and professional. Do yourselves a favor and drop by for a meal ... you won’t regret it and i know you’ll be writing rave reviews as well. Thank you La cucina!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suep5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2019

We heard a lot of good things so we decided to give it a try for my husband's birthday. It is a very busy restaurant even on a Tuesday night. We could not get a reservation for 6 pm but were able to get in for 7 pm. We liked the interior look with its high ceilings and brick wall but noticed that it was very noisy. Not a place for a romantic conversation. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable but the service was slow. The menu is varied but we each chose a different veal meal. Mine was very good but my husband thought his was uneven; parts were tender, others were tough. The spaghetti side dish was so so. We enjoyed the free bruschetta and the warm bread offered at the beginning of the meal. The wine was good but on the pricey side. The cheapeast bottle of wine was $45. The creme brulée was amazing and when our waiter learned it was my husband's birthday he did not charge it. All this to say, our experience was good in general and we will be back.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DidiD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

It is unassuming from the exterior, tucked in the corner of an Orleans strip plaza anchored by a Jean Coutu Pharmacy. However inside it has more character. We have been there twice since we discovered it in July, once as a couple and more recently with extended family. The service both times has been impeccable and our meals were superb!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BDT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

I've been there dozens of time and everything is delicious. The food is authentic and handmade especially for you. My favorite is the Gnocchi but also love the veal cannelloni and the chicken or veal parm. Can't say enough good things about the food and the service. They are quite busy and can't always get a seat but it's worth the planning ahead for those delicious dishes.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank zoeg687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

We went to this restaurant last year and were impressed with both the food and service. It is a very nice place and we were looking forward to a return visit.
While the restaurant was contacted around the noon hour, during their open hours, the call went directly to an answering option with the message requesting to leave information for a reservation. As I was expecting a return call with a confirmation the same day, I was disappointed it never came. The following morning, which was approx. 24 hours later, I received a message asking to call the restaurant. The call was returned within the half-hour and only to get another recording about making a reservation. Again, no return call.
When a business, particularly a restaurant during their open hours, cannot have someone answer the phone and/or return a call within a short period of time it creates a very bad impression. There are no excuses for not attending to calls within a short time frame, at a minimum on the same day. The fact that the reservation was not for the following day has no relevance.
We decided to dine elsewhere and we doubt we would return.
The restaurant may want to do a better job at handling phone calls or risk losing other customers.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Service
Thank db1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriok2016, Manager at Cucina da Vito, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2019

Hello db1127,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and writing this review. We are truly sorry that you did not feel your calls were attended to in a timely manor. It is the long weekend and we are experiencing a higher than usual amount of reservations as per the longer call back time. In the future you can use other vehicles, our face book page is a great tool to make reservations. Again we do apologize for this inconvenience and are continuously working to ensure that we return all of our calls in a timely manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina da Vito also viewed

 

Been to Cucina da Vito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing