We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep a big eye on what you ordered!”
Review of Sushi Kan

Sushi Kan
Ranked #1,365 of 2,749 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa
Level Contributor
515 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Keep a big eye on what you ordered!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The restaurant is excellent and the food is awesome. But service is sometimes rough. Placing orders depends on the days sometimes fast, sometimes slow.
After few incident swhere I did not receive my order or received other peoples order. I started to track my order by writing them on another copy. It was a successful method because many times I returnee a plate that was not mine.
Also, when placing an order there is a cop "the order cop" who enters it into the computer and sometimes reduces quantities, so you order 5 hand rolls and you receive 4 etc.
The food is awesome and that is the reason I eat there often

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    40
    22
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“The best Sushis in town... Seriously!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Sushi Kan is THE place to go if you love sushis and are looking for somerhing fresh! Te restaurant is located at about 20-30 minutes from Gatineau-Hull but is definetely worth a detour. We love sushis and have tried many other locations. This one is the best one we've discovered. Lots of choice to choose from and the service is great. You pay a fix price (around 20$) for an all-you-can-eat! That's pretty reasonnable. We always go with friends (actually, they're responsible for that discovery) and share some plates, some of them coming in unique pieces while others have a few. Basically, you select your choices from the menu, you write it down on a piece of paper left for that purpose, and you wait for it to arrive... The service is quite efficient and fast, considering that the restaurant is full all the time. Don't over order: although the price is fixed, you will be charged for any left over at your table (something I totally agree with). If you go, you need to try the following, there just soooooo good: salmon roses, cone, salmon pizza. But, of course, everything is just extremely good and fresh. On top of that, they give you a card and mark each time you visit so that you can get a free meal. No reservation required. We normally go around 7:00 p.m. when it's slowing down. And if you are really sushi lovers... You'll book a visit on your agenda at least a couple times during the month! Great job Sushi Kan... See you at our next visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManonSimard-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Bargain For Sushi And Other Japanese Food”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been going to Sushi Kan since they opened the Baseline location and switched to the Innes Road location as soon as it opened since we live closer. It is also a better decorated location with much better parking faciities. Sushi Kan is a real bargin with very high quality sushi and a wide-selection of other traditional Japanese dishes, great soups and really low-priced soft drinks. The tea is of good quality as well. Service is good, although sometimes the wait-staff have a bt of difficulty with English or French, but it really doesn't matter. I highly recommend Sushi Kan to all my friends and colleagues.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Very good AYCE”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This and 168 are our family go mto AYCE sushi spots. We prefer the fish here but the restaurant itself is abit dingy. If you combined the physical restaurant of 168 with the food here you would have the winner but as it is there are trade offs. Service has improved a lot and the food comes very quickly. Take out is also quite reasonable and great for large groups.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snikt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing AYCE sushi.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

For baseline location: The service isn't always consistent-they sometimes forget some dishes that have been ordered. However, the majority of the staff are fast and friendly. The prices are exceptional; soda is $0.20 and they do not charge for tea (it's not often but I have been charged for tea at AYCE sushi places before). I've been here over a dozen times and they are one of my favourite AYCE sushi places in Ottawa. They also have a location in Kanata which beings down the food/service quality. The food isn't always fresh and the staff aren't as friendly as the baseline location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorth_Vader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Kan also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Sushi Kan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing