We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty, greet value food and pleasant atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Lucien

Chez Lucien
Ranked #41 of 2,725 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty, greet value food and pleasant atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went to this pub after reading reviews on this site and we weren't disappointed. I'm glad we found out about this place through the website otherwise it would be easy to miss. Our servers were friendly and knowledgable about the local beers. The food was excellent value. I had the seafood fettuccine which had large pieces of seafood and was delicious. My boyfriend had the liver which was again very tasty and a generous portion. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyPygme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    144
    31
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Bistro - Tasty Food & Craft Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice atmosphere, great burger and excellent beer imported from QC. Unfortunately our server was curt and unfriendly but it didn't really affect our evening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank petrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Atmosphere and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This atmospheric little pub is centrally located in the Byward Market and is popular with locals. No wonder! The prices are very reasonable; we paid $15 for one of the best seafood fettucini meal I've had in a long time. Loaded with mussels, salmon, and scallops in a delicious white sauce, I was unable to finish mine as the portions are very generous. They've got a decent selection of beer both on tap and bottled and the servers are fluent in English and French. On a Friday night it's crowded but worth the twenty or thirty minutes we waited to get in. An old working jukebox adds to the atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burtinshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My meal was good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place, and the burgers in particular, came highly recommended. I had the Chez Lucien burger, which came with fries and salad. The portions were huge and were all pretty good. The burger was also, fortunately, not messy, although it had lots of stuff on top. My friend, unfortunately, receive a burger that was not cooked thoroughly, so that put a damper on the meal. However, the staff dealt with it pretty well. I'd be willing to give it another try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pimmingswool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fun place, GREAT service and friendly. Had the Chez Lucien Burger comes with homemade fries and salad! Burger was delicious with cream cheese, mushrooms, carmilized onions and bacon...good for the heart!.. fries were homemade and you get lots and the salad and dressing was delicious as well. We also had 'hot' wings and when they say hot they mean it...very good! Husband had the Berjoulais (sp?) burger and it had a pear, brie cheese and also was delicious! The couple we were with also said their meals were delicious! What a great place and reasonably priced as well! The only thing is if you want a quiet place this isn't it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Lucien also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Chez Lucien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing