We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My meal was good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Lucien

Chez Lucien
Ranked #41 of 2,725 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My meal was good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place, and the burgers in particular, came highly recommended. I had the Chez Lucien burger, which came with fries and salad. The portions were huge and were all pretty good. The burger was also, fortunately, not messy, although it had lots of stuff on top. My friend, unfortunately, receive a burger that was not cooked thoroughly, so that put a damper on the meal. However, the staff dealt with it pretty well. I'd be willing to give it another try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pimmingswool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    144
    31
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fun place, GREAT service and friendly. Had the Chez Lucien Burger comes with homemade fries and salad! Burger was delicious with cream cheese, mushrooms, carmilized onions and bacon...good for the heart!.. fries were homemade and you get lots and the salad and dressing was delicious as well. We also had 'hot' wings and when they say hot they mean it...very good! Husband had the Berjoulais (sp?) burger and it had a pear, brie cheese and also was delicious! The couple we were with also said their meals were delicious! What a great place and reasonably priced as well! The only thing is if you want a quiet place this isn't it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited in early April and when we arrived at 7.30pm, the place was very full- we had to wait for about 15 minutes for a table which was quite short really, considering the number of people in the restaurant. I had the Chez Lucien burger and my partner the Diego burger and both were delicious. The bun was a simple sesame one- none of that fancy brioche stuff, the fillings were substantial and the meat not too thick and dry...I particularly liked the cream cheese in my burger as well the divine fries. Very sad to not have had room for dessert!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tashebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Funky and Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had dinner and drinks last night at this funky little place in the Byward Market in Ottawa and just like previous reviews said it was terrific. The place was packed when we arrived, but we were put on the list for a table and barely had time to get a beer when we were seated. DeeDee our server was very efficient and cheerful. The food arrived in a timely fashion and was everything you would hope for. The burgers were perfectly cooked the fries were crisp and hot, they also came with a tasty little salad with a nice garlicky dressing. We will definitely be coming back here the next time we are in Ottawa! A new favorite place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Forget the 'pubs' on the main square of Byward Market - THIS is what a real British pub is all about!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

From its unassuming exterior to the cozy interior, this is everything you can want in a pub on a cold winters day. We spent a lovely Bank Holiday Sunday drinking and listening to the live jazz music. We ended up staying for food as we were so comfortable. The burgers were the best we have had during our trip to Canada. It was so refreshing that they came with an interesting and substantial salad on the side, as well as the obligatory fries.

The only downside was the price of alcohol - but this is not exclusive to Chez Lucien, we generally found Ottawa expensive for drinking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenGNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Lucien also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Chez Lucien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing