We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very best authentic Indian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Little India Cafe

Little India Cafe
Ranked #191 of 2,726 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“The very best authentic Indian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a quaint little cafe with wonderful staff, Little India is purely an awesome representation of what Indian is all about! The amazing selection, and consistent delicious quality is unmatched anywhere in Canada. The food is layed out buffet style, the Nan is made fresh and brought to your table. If you love Indian, or if you want to experience Indian for the first time, Little India will not disappoint!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canaryinacoalmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    39
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite a find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Tiny little cafe which did a wonderful buffet for lunch. We were taken there so have no idea if they do dinner. Get there early it was full by midday and queuing! Excellent value and service. We loved it .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pennorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Little Spot in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great food, reasonable prices, I had the traditional dishes and all were perfectly spiced and served in record time. The decor lacks , but the food more then makes up the difference... PLus PLus

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DougD244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best indian food in Ottawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Excellent food! Every single time I have dined at this restaurant over the years, the food has been outstanding. Especially the warm naan's when they're straight out of the oven! Yum yum.....

The curries are all pretty good....the paneer bhuna in particular is amazing.

The place is a hole in the wall which makes it frustrating when you show up on a weekend, but i'm sure the owner has his reasons for not wanting to expand

The price however seems to be on an upward trend....Not appreciated but I would still go for an occasional treat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank incdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Indian in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband works with a lot of people from India/Pakistan so he asked a number of them where the best Indian restaurant was-9 out of 10 recommended this place so off we went. We were impressed.

Very small restaurant so there is often a wait out the door but it is worth the wait. Decor is decent-cloth tablecloths and napkins. The owner is also the cook and frequently your server as well. It is a family affair so he kids and wife help out too.

Butter chicken is nicely spiced, rice perfectly cooked. Tandoori meats flavourful and moist. We tend to stick to the same things that we love.(Pakoras, Naan-flaky and melt in your mouth delicious). We've ordered takeout and the portions are slightly larger due to containers used but it's just not the same at home(tastes great but mising something?)

Hubby and coworkers have visited at lunch and say the buffet isn't quite as good-still satisfactory but not outstanding. Order off the menu if you want the best.

In a strip mall across from the movie theatre. The Indian supermarket next door is well stocked if you like to make your own food at home. Lots of different masalas and spices to choose from.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewartsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little India Cafe also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Little India Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing