We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sound Thai food and attentive service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok Thai Garden Restaurant

Bangkok Thai Garden Restaurant
Ranked #581 of 2,713 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
208 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Sound Thai food and attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family of four ordered three dishes to share - yellow curry, red curry, and pad thai. The waiter was very friendly, helpful and attentive, and all of the dishes were good. Also, we appreciated that they were open relatively late at night (I think it was 8 or 8:30 when we entered.)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RPCV89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in Ottawa for 2 nights, and decided to visit this restaurant for 2 out of the 3 dinners we had, because it offered very good value, and fresh, delicious Thai dishes.
We chose vegetarian options both nights. We can recommend the following dishes we enjoyed on our 2 visits: the Gaeng Garee Pak (yellow curry with mixed vegetables/coconut milk), Tao Hoo Pad Ped (stirfried tofu, mixed vegetables in red curry), Pad Med Ma Muang (stir fried vegetables with cashews, and dried chili), and also Pad Kar Na (Chinese broccoli with vegetarian stir fry sauce). We had delicious basmati rice as a side dish.
The menu is very extensive, and offers variety for meat and seafood lovers as well.
Portions were generous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolynandDavep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hearst, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ottawa Race Weekend Highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I make my annual trek to Ottawa for the race weekend. This year, we decided to try something new, and am I GLAD we did! Friendly, quick service. Great menu (varied) and stupendous food. I recommend this resto to all runners who want to eat clean & carb up, and who want awesome taste. We took appetizers, main menu items, along with imported beers.
Tops!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quick service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife was very pleasantly surprised with her entree, which had just the right amount of spice. We were there for an early dinner, and had to get it "to go" at the last minute since the young one was running out of steam after a day of museums.

They quickly had our food ready in takeout boxes, and we ate our fill at the hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattreider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value lunch menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Tasty food and great value. The three course special menu includes hot & sour soup (not very spicy), vegetable spring rolls, and a choice of main course. We tried the spicy aubergine, and the sweet & sour vegetables, which were both great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelcotterill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Thai Garden Restaurant also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Bangkok Thai Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing