We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, inexpensive Thai restaurant in Byward Market area”

Bangkok Thai Garden Restaurant
Ranked #638 of 2,766 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice, inexpensive Thai restaurant in Byward Market area”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a nice Thai restaurant in Byward Market area. Our food was very good. The entrees were around $10. We had read some of the negative comments about this restaurant so we had our trepidations but all was just fine.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MandJ-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We've now been to this restaurant twice and will definitely be coming back many times again in the future. The first time my husband and I came here, I ordered the padang chicken curry and he ordered the tofu red curry. Both were excellent. The sticky rice portion was small but brought us back to our trips to Thailand and Laos.

We came back a couple weeks later bringing friends. This time we ordered a yellow veg curry, an eggplant dish, a cashew dish and the red curry. Everything was delicious and we were all extremely happy with our meals. Our only complaint was that the cashew dish was spiced very hot when the degree of spiciness was never asked. That said, it was a great dish and wasn't too big of an issue as we enjoy spicy food.

Both meals were capped off with mango and coconut milk over sticky rice which was hardly necessary as we found each time to be quite full. However, it was impossible to resist as the mango was the best mango I've had since Bangkok.

All in all, great meals. The decor is average. The service is friendly enough and meals are reasonably priced at $10-12 (not including rice). The menu is pretty extensive and each time we struggled to choose as there were many that tempted us.
As I said before, we'll definitely be back and it'll likely become our favourite Thai place in Ottawa.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Delicious and fairly priced. Would definitely go again

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyalice13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiaozuo, China
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pretty good Thai food”
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I had the lunch special here before, I thought it was pretty good, better than average. I'd go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank starlaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“It was ok not the best I...”
Reviewed January 29, 2008

It was ok not the best I had but ok

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Thai Garden Restaurant also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Bangkok Thai Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing