We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good brunch”
Review of Manx Pub

Manx Pub
Ranked #92 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
311 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Good brunch”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had brunch at Manx Pub on a Saturday. It was busy but we didn't have to wait too long for a table.

Pros:
Delicious huevos rancheros
The side of mashed potatoes instead of breakfast potatoes was strange at first but they are out of this world
Good service
Reasonably priced

Cons:
The coffee could have been better
The lighting was seriously lacking (I get that it's a pub in a semi-basement, but if you're going to serve brunch, invest in a few lamps, especially for the tables near the bar)

Great food, good atmosphere, I recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    110
    33
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“coziest spot in the capital”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

had the best fish tacos of my life here. sadly, the menu changes often so i can't have them anymore! excellent atmosphere - tiny and cozy. good food and drinks. excellent place to warm up in the winter. still haven't had brunch here, which i hear is among the best in the city.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank listophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the ideal of quaint”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place has an atmosphere that is very cozy, its usually full but if you can get in there on a less than crowded night you will find it very inviting and quaint. Its located on Elgin St. one of Ottawa's entertainment streets so there is lots to do around this little tavern. They support local artists here, poets and musicians, usually quite professional.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jix_Logan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Dingy place, excellent food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The cups, plates, and cutlery might not match, and it's in a dingy basement, but the food is delicious. I have been there for brunch and dinner several times - never disappointed. The lamb curry wrap is amazing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flavia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy pub with delicious food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I always have trouble choosing from their specials board. The burgers never disappoint. I also love the atmosphere.
I hear the brunch is great but still haven't gone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank canalguy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manx Pub also viewed

 
 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Manx Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing