We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brunch and dinner both wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of the urban pear - CLOSED

the urban pear
Cuisines: Canadian, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Glebe / Dow's Lake
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brunch and dinner both wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We eat here almost every other weekend because the food is so consistently good, as is the service. Creative Canadian food with a nice drink menu. Haven't been disappointed yet!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaAriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    35
    25
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good but portions are way too small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I ordered a very expensive scallop appetizer, only to receive 2 scallops! I'm sorry, but I'm just too hungry for the tiny portions you offer! The food is delicious however, it's just not enough, we always leave feeling very hungry! If you added just a little more food to the plate, business would boom! I appreciate small portions, and large portions make me hurl...it's just that this is slightly too small

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A nice little neighbourhood find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a very nice meal at this restaurant. It took me a while to venture there-the appearance looks somewhat uninviting (facing onto a parking lot) but I have heard lots of favourable reviews on the food. Our choices included scallops, duck and risotto. Scallops and the risotto were very good. The duck was somewhat tough, although flavourful. The ambience is surprisingly nice inside, but it could benefit from adding blinds or shutters to block the car lights from the lot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldogs36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Went to Urban Pear for brunch with a couple of friends. Lots of good things to say about the place! The home made bread and caramelized onions butter was great. Menu had tons of great items and I'd definitely go again to try different things. Had the poached eggs served with hollandaise on striploin - really really good!

Only thing keeping this from being a 5 star review is price (a bit pricy, 22$ for a brunch plate is a bit much), as well as service. Both waiters that helped us looked like this was the last place they wanted to be. Unfortunate because the food was great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfbibeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Remarkable Culinary Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went for our wedding anniversary. It was a Wednesday evening. The place was relatively quiet. So we had very attentive service. Not that we know if during the weekend, it is less so. But as a rule, when a restaurant is full, staff are in hurry. We had chosen this place for its good reputation. Having been around for a number of years, the Urban Pear has deservedly acquired a good reputation for its imaginative cuisine. We were enjoyably surprised. The food was definitely beyond our expectations. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. A culinary experience that is well worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the urban pear also viewed

 
Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing