We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best oyster house”

The Whalesbone Oyster House
Ranked #31 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $101
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Best oyster house”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great eclectic rustic wood atmosphere, cheefrul ambiance, good service! Lots of variety in oysters but great fish and chips as well - in fact yummy chips!! Located close to downtown

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank joeybooth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    86
    16
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
229 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a birthday lunch here and as usual it was delicious. I splurged and had the lobster roll & a beer - the roll was great. Whalesbone has a well deserved reputation for their fresh fish.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OttawaShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The food was very good, but the restaurant was crowded and noisy and the staff had an attitude that they were just too cool to live or serve a mere minion like myself. I read reviews on this place and I just expected more based on the reviews. Very Good but not as great as I was lead to believe and better restaurants in town for the same price point.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JoBrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
182 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Food is "5" - atmosphere "2"”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited this restaurant with a girlfriend - love seafood and was really looking forward to it. What was good was excellent, but, even so, I'd be somewhat reticent to return.
The food...divine. the scallop ceviche appetizer was perfect- figs, jalapeno, onion, creme fraiche -- all combined in bursts of flavour - fantastic. I had the walleye main course, which was, again, out of this world. It was served in a bowl with potatoes, asparagus, radish, shallots, olives and subtle flavours, tender with crispy skin. It was truly, truly excellent.
Nice selection of wines by the glass for those of us who arrived by car and could only have one.
Service was friendly and efficient as well, no mean feat considering how crowded it was.
So...why hesitate to return? Well, for one thing, it's loud. So loud that you can barely hear your friend talking and have to either lean over the table to talk loudly and/or shout. Cacophony at its worst. This is not even due to accidental design -- it's the music - a very aggressive jazz was playing the night we went. It's so loud it's actually off-putting. And unpleasant. Seriously, why do this? I gather it's some attempt to be trendy - trust me, people would rather hear themselves think and be able to talk over dinner!
Why else? I'm not sure there is air conditioning -- the tables are squished close together and the space is tiny. We were seated near the window, and even then we were hot (this was one of those early hot days, maybe they just didn't have the air on yet).
And lastly -- very bright (halogen?) lights at odd angles -- such that they were directly in my eyes. I mentioned it to the waitress who said she would tell the manager - but then said that with the ceiling fans she wasn't sure if they could be re-angled.
At any event, between the noise, having to talk loudly back and forth, the heat and the lights I left with a headache that even two advils didn't cure.
So...yes, the food was off the charts..but the experience was really, really not. And for the price, I am not sure I would risk it - which is a shame, because it was one of the best seafood meals I've had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ice_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“MMMMmmm The Brown Bag Lunch”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Worthy of all the "Best Sandwich I've Ever Had" TV shows... Their outlet store... Smoked Fish Sandwich. Imagine this. You taste the caper mayo, and its tangy and creamy and then, whoa, there's a bit of sweetness peaking through from the caramelized onions and you hit a big chunk of smoked tuna, and yes, you have a little bit of everything all over your face at that point, but you don't care, because you can basically use the wonderfully chewy bread to wipe your face off of the goodness of this sandwich not to waste any bit of it. Did I love it? Yes, yes I did...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JR2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whalesbone Oyster House also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to The Whalesbone Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing