We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. That's about it.”

The Cornerstone Bar & Grill
Ranked #1,037 of 2,725 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Description: This urban, ByWard Market location with a wraparound patio and contemporary dining room provides a chic yet casual dining experience! Come check in at the Corner!
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great location. That's about it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I eat here a few times a year and most recently last week. I come here for the location and patio. The atmosphere is also good. The food is average at best, same for service, and value. As long as you're coming here with this in mind I think it will match expectations.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 14Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    55
    59
    32
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in this restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Service was very slow for a burger and salad with chicken breast. The chicken was way overcooked and dry and the burger and salad that hubby had was nothing special either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tracytalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Kinda Like Paris!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sunny day, weekend stroll on the Market, looking to chill under an umbrella, and have a bite to eat while watching the people pass-by. Well Cornerstone fit the bill with a nice corner table with cushioned seats and some excellent food. The shrimp-filled spring rolls were well presented with a wavy display of tangy sweet 'n sour sauce followed by a tender layering of turkey n' avocado sandwich with side of crunchy fries...sandwich could use a little more flavouring like cilantro!?! My walking companion requested a glass of Sangria, but only by the pitcher you day, pity! So we opted for a glass of house red and a sweet ice tea. Service was friendly and prompt. And oh yes, lots of people passing-by to watch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Average food,slow service. Ordered a martini and it was the worst thing I've ever had. Clearly the bartender doesn't know how to make one. When I told this to the waitress, at no point did she offer a new drink or to take it off my bill since I couldn't even drink it. Won't be going there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodielicious732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent food, less than mediocre service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I went there with a friend on a Saturday afternoon for a late lunch. The hostess was pleasant and friendly. The food was decent, we both ordered burgers. Our waitress was very unpleasant. She was rude and not very friendly. We waited to pay for bill, but it took forever. A group of the waitresses were more concerned with talking about their weekend plans than giving us service. The young lady that rang us through (finally! after waiting inside while the girls outside chatted) was very pleasant. The patio is nice, I will probably go back, but it was just meh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornerstone Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Cornerstone Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing