We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Aroma Meze

Aroma Meze
Ranked #5 of 2,725 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Aroma Small Plates and Wine. The first of its kind in Canada! Come and enjoy "Meze" the food that reflects the way of life in Greek culture. Meze...an eating style, ancient in origin, favored in Greece and the Mediterranean. It is where eating is a hospitality and a celebration.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Will not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Initial impression very good. Waitress could not explain certain items on the menu. Food tasteless. Very small portions for the price. Long wait for food. Overall not impressed. Will not return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank consumeraware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrchef3, Owner at Aroma Meze, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Consumerware, the reason for my question was in order to establish the date you visited our establishment, due to the fact that the waitress you are referring, had just started on Friday April 19th and it was just her second shift, she was strictly under training and shadowed by our floor manager on April 20th the date of your visit to our establishment.
I would like to take the opportunity to deeply apologize about your dining experience and the very limited knowledge of our trainee, It is imperative to our success that you taken the time to communicate your comments to us, we take each and every comment very seriously in hope to improve our service and food, also we take pride to the quality of our service and the item offerings on our menu as we strive to always improve and offer the freshest product in the market place.
I'm hoping that you give us the opportunity to have you as our guest and dine with us once again; hoping to demonstrate to you our commitment and loyalty to our customer service, we much appreciate another chance, please let me know if you are interested and I would make the dinning arrangements for you.
Cheers!
Michael Tatsis
Executive Chef Owner
Aroma Small Plates and Wine
613-232-1377
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    131
    37
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Food Service, and a bit expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Went with 2 friends. As everyone seems to state, the dishes are meant as appetizer size portions for 4 people. But by appetizer, I mean 2 bites. Great food, just small portions. And to get extra pita for your left over dip costs $2, which seems a bit much. The food is quite salty so anyone with heart failure or salt-sensitive hypertension should steer clear!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smigiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The server was very attentive and helpful. He advised us early that this is not a North American greek restaurant. Rather, it is a real greek restaurant serving traditional food.

The dishes are served in portions of four - similar to an appetizer size. We let our server bring what he thought would be good.

We were full when we left. But, the bill was over $150 after tax for three of us including a glass of wine, three beers, coffee and dessert.

It was an interesting experience but more than we would typically spend for a dinner out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank North9ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The food was delicious, the service was great and so was the atmosphere.
You share plates of food which is nice as you can get a variety of tastes.
There were three of us and we ordered over six different plates. It was too much food. So unless you are a huge eater I would recommend two plates or less per person.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had a fantastic meal at Aroma Meze last night! We ordered 7 dishes, all of them were incredible.

The lamb sausage with mint yogurt is magical. I don't really know how to accurately describe it. It has this rich savoriness that comes from the lamb, simple, but then there's this layer of acidity to the dish that cuts the fattiness of the lamb. Then there's this herby element and also a contrast in textures and temperatures and .... I'm not doing the dish justice. Magical is the only way I can describe it. I got caught licking the bowl clean.

The service was incredible as well. Andy, our waiter, couldn't stop raving about the food and his enthusiasm was 100% justified.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Meze also viewed

 

Been to Aroma Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing