We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, what a place”

The Wellington Gastropub
Ranked #104 of 2,725 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Exceptionally fresh and unique food that will not leave you disappointed. The menu changes daily and will keep you coming back time and time again.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow, what a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Great service and atmosphere. Great beer and very decent wine selection. Although the ribeye was a little chewy the sauce was amazing! This place would be a top ten restaurant anywhere. It's pricey but well worth it. it's also a little off the beaten track but well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iancolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    66
    35
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best eateries in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I figure I've eaten at Gastropub enough times to finally write a review. It's one of my favorite restaurants in Ottawa. The food is simply amazing, from the delicious bread from Art-Is-In Bakery to the menu that is refreshed daily. Steak is always done exactly at the level where you want it. The rabbit and duck are ultra tender. I can't comment on the wine since it's not my beverage of choice but the beer selection is excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purpledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Awesome food! Awesome atmosphere! Awesome service! Loved every bite and will definitely return. This restaurant should be added to the book of "Awesome"!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Family M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in a Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a unique dining experience - fine dining in a casual pub atmosphere. Going up the stairs, you get the impression that you're walking into another typical pub with the same old boring menu (nachos, burgers, wings...). However, the entrance is where all similarities end! The menu is small with a handful of unique and creative dishes. They have a great list of craft beers on tap and in bottle. They also have a nice wine list.

Our group shared the tuna tartare, steak tartare, and tomato salad as appetizers. All were wonderfully fresh and tasty. I then had the Angus ribeye which was grilled to perfection. For dessert, I had the chocolate hazelnut crepes which were to die for! Others in my party had the ice cream which was also delicious. It is a bit pricey but the quality of the food and beverages is well worth it.

The service and atmosphere was friendly and casual. Even though it was a Tuesday night, the place was packed so reservations are a must.

I would definitely recommend the Wellington Gastropub for anyone looking for a delicious meal but without the stuffiness of a fancy restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sensfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of Ottawa's BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have been going to this wonderful NYC style restaurant for years. (Think Spotted Pig) Always the very best food and service - thanks to Chris and Shane. If we have a celebration or family vote it is always the Gastro pub!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonMonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wellington Gastropub also viewed

 

Been to The Wellington Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing