We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Poutine, really good milkshakes”
Review of Elgin Street Diner

Elgin Street Diner
Ranked #31 of 2,785 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the Poutine, really good milkshakes”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Quite a selection of poutine, I took a while to decide what I wanted. Portions were huge, and so was my milkshake. Really tasty, and I was satisfied with my breakfast here. The diner was of course casual, with a relaxed vibe. Servers were helpful and efficient, although it did take a while before my food came. I guess it's because of the crowd.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xinrong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    217
    111
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

OMG!
Breakfast is always excellent at the Elgin Street Diner, not matter what!
Portions are very generous event service isnot always to parr...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieCoquelicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great diner food!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We came here looking for some comfort diner food and it did not disappoint! Make sure you go hungry!! Portions were very generous, but as we were visiting, we couldn't take it with us unfortunately!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lobstergirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
“YOU GOTTA EAT HERE”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Not particularly impressed, philly steak sandwich seemed to be missing the cheese, no green pepper and microscopic satued onions. Service was very fast. Gave up their liquor license last summer so no cold beer. My wife's burger was overdone but average. My son had the Blue plate breakfast and that was good (he says the poutine was excellent)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great diner”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Elgin Street Diner is a wonderful asset to downtown Ottawa. It's a diner, and not an haute cuisine restaurant. And it does what it does very well. Open 24 hours. Breakfast all the time -- any time. Good, solid food (and lots of it). Good, pleasant service. Comfy décor. If you are looking for an informal place to satisfy your appetite any time of the day or night, this is the place to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobP234678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elgin Street Diner also viewed

 

Been to Elgin Street Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing